Bake! – Strawberry Chantilly Cake (Victoria Sandwich variation)

The 7th recipe I made from Nick Malgieri’s “Bake!” was Strawberry Chantilly Cake. Kayte had chosen it to be her birthday cake, but here it takes some more weeks for strawberries to come into season, which is why I decided to not make the original recipe, but the Victoria Sandwich variation. I used the yellow-cake recipe for the 2 layers and bought some strawberry preserves – quick and easy! I have to say, though, that I don’t own 2 9-inch round cake pans, but only 1 10-inch springform which is what I used. But I own a cake leveller which is perfect for cutting a springform cake into 2 or 3 layers. This cake was a huge hit here – sometimes it’s something really simple which makes my family happy😉.

6 responses to “Bake! – Strawberry Chantilly Cake (Victoria Sandwich variation)

  1. Now admit it, you baked this cake to coincide with the Royal Wedding right? 😉 (Maybe it’s the name “Victoria Sandwich” but for some reason that did immediately pop to mind).

  2. That looks really good! I might have to try that version sometime. I made the original version, and it was great, too.

  3. I can’t decide which version to make…was leaning toward the original, but your sandwich looks so yummy!

  4. Oh, I am going to make this version soon…this looks lovely, very pretty. Happy to hear it was a hit…this would be a great birthday choice for me anytime! Have to say, it made my birthday that much more special knowing everyone was baking along. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

