Modern Baker Challenge – Breton Apple Pie

The 7th recipe I made from the Sweet Tarts and Pies section for the Modern Baker Challenge – Breton Apple Pie. I explicitely chose this recipe because NM says this pie freezes well. I wanted to bring this pie to work for my co-workers, and the only good day for bringing in stuff like that is Wednesday, but with my crazy work schedule right now (Mondays 12 hours and Tuesdays 13 hours) I knew I would NOT manage to make this pie on a Tuesday night. Thus, I made it on Sunday and stuck it into the freezer. First I thought this recipe was time-consuming, but it really isn’t. You just should pay very close attention to the apples so they don’t scorch – I almost had a mishap like that. But everything else was easy and rather quick. And yes, this pie freezes well and tastes like fresh when thawed. My co-workers loved it and said I could bring it in again ;o).

10 responses to “Modern Baker Challenge – Breton Apple Pie

  1. So glad it was a hit! It looks wonderful…I’m excited to make this one, too. And great to know about the freezability (is that a word?).

  2. I’m looking forward to all of the apple recipes in this section. Your pie looks great!!

  3. I love pretty much anything with apples, and this looks really yummy. It actually seems kind of like the tart that we just made for TWD. (Although I only got as far as making the filling for that one.)

  4. Can't Believe We Ate...

    What an interesting and lovely apple pie! I’m developing a deep appreciation for Nick Maglieri!
    I’d like to invite you to join Kayte and me as we cook through Thirty Minute Pasta! I’ve set Thursdays for round-up day, you choose the recipe and the date you cook. I try to get the round up posted on Thursdays, but I’m a working gal, so I have my flaws!

  5. This Breton Apple Pie looks great…I was wavering on this one as it looked so huge or something, but now that I see your photo, I am liking it a lot better. Guess I will make this one after all…it looks delicious.

  6. Glad it was a hit. It looks good- and I’m not an apple pie person so that’s saying something. Not sure I’ll get to this one- told hubby I’d make him one of the apple pies and I’m waiting for his decision. Okay 7 already!! Are you slowing down anytime soon??

  7. Yours is so pretty! This was the first recipe I made out of the book, well before the modern baker challenge. I had some trouble with the top crust, I remember.

    And all the more impressive for fitting it into your work day. Are you one of those people I heard about recently, who metabolically only needs 4 hours of sleep a night? 😉

  8. O I have to make this one. Looks wonderful.

Leave a Reply

