Modern Baker Challenge – Bittersweet Chocolate Tart

The next tart on my Modern Baker Challenge lineup was the Bittersweet Chocolate Tart. This one is REALLY heavy – like, you can eat one piece of it and you’re full for the rest of the day, but it is oh so yummy!!! I gave the press-in cookie dough a second chance (when I made the Parisian Fruit Tarts it was too crumbly to get it out of the pan) because I have a TART PAN with a removable bottom now! And it worked out just fine. The chocolate ganache was easy. Only problem here: you need to be patient – heated cream mixture has to cool, same goes for the melted chocolate. Then you mix both and let the ganache cool again. Butter is added, filling is scraped into the tart shell and AGAIN it has to be refrigerated. The recipe says to bring the tart to room temperature for 1 or 2 hours before serving – I thought, it tasted even better right from the fridge.  Oh, and the raspberries on top complemented the sweetness of the ganache really well!!! Definitely on my make-again list!

6 responses to “Modern Baker Challenge – Bittersweet Chocolate Tart

  1. You are killing me…this is death by chocolate…..

  2. Yeah for the new tart pan! It’s pretty, too! The guys absolutely loved this one and have been leaving strong hints/suggestions that I could not make this one again too soon. Yours looks wonderful…and I could have some…I could eat the berry on mine and you could have the chocolate part! Love raspberries.

  3. Looks beautiful…this one was so, so good, wasn’t it?! And hurray for the new tart pan!!

  4. Lovely! Can’t wait for next week!!

  5. I loved, loved, loved this tart!!! Yours looks great with the chocolate shavings and raspberries. I’m glad you tried the press-in cookie dough again. I had great success with it. And it was perfect with this tart.

  6. Pingback: {Modern Baker Challenge} Bittersweet Chocolate Tart « Tea and Scones

Leave a Reply

