Modern Baker Challenge – Mango & Rice Tart

We’ve started with a new section of “The Modern Baker” by Nick Malgieri in the Modern Baker Challenge – Sweet Tarts and Pies. I already made 2 recipes from this section long ago: the Parisian Fruit Tarts and the Chocolate Orange Hazelnut Tart. Both were fantastic! One of the official recipes I claimed from this section is the Mango & Rice Tart. >>” />

The recipe says to use the Press-In Cookie Dough, but I used it for the Parisian Fruit Tarts and couldn’t get them out of the pans, so I had written down a note saying: use different crust. That’s what I did for this tart: I chose the Sweet Tart Dough. It came together easily and I used a combination of rolling the dough out and pressing it into the pan – yes, I’m still afraid of rolling out tart crusts! While the crust was in the oven I prepared the filling: cooked some Jasmine rice in my fancy rice cooker, made a syrup from sugar and water, added coconut cream and salt, scraped the hot rice into the coconut cream mixture and let it absorb the liquid for about 4 hours. Then I scraped the coconut rice into the tart crust, spread it evenly and arranged the mango pieces. For some reason, my mango slicing skills are more than decent, so I decided to use cubes. Slices would definitely look neater, but I thought the looks were fine. Verdict: this is a keeper recipe. It tastes like a combination of sweet tart crust, sweet coconut risotto and mango – FANTASTIC!

8 responses to “Modern Baker Challenge – Mango & Rice Tart

  1. That looks wonderful, and so pretty! Was unsure of this one because guys do not like sweet rice, so planned on just a small one…what do you think, was the rice noticeable and threatening to a non-sweet rice eater? I made the Lemon Sour Cream one today but will post tomorrow as Matt’s girlfriend has a post on my blog today and I didn’t want to take away from her joy in that by posting something of my own today…she was having all her friends go to the blog and look at it! I loved this sweet tart dough…rolls and handles like a dream. Mangoes are so good…we have a sale on them this week 10/$10 so I need to make this one this week! Yours is gorgeous.

  2. This looks great. maybe I should try doing it as part of my blog name.

  3. Oh, this is so pretty!! It sounded weird to me, but looks delicious…I will have to try it! Doubt the kids will like it (not big rice fans), but I bet hubby and I would love it.

  4. Very nice! I mangle mangos when I cut them. Cubing was a good idea. Glad you re-mentioned that issue with the Parisian tart crust. I’ll keep that in mind when I try it.

  5. Looks great! And it’s not just you — mangoes are really hard to cut neatly because the pit runs all the way through. I was just lamenting the fact that I don’t have any mangoe, because I’d love to make this one.

Leave a Reply

