Mellow Bakers March 2011 – Aloo Paratha

My third bread for the Mellow Bakers this month was Aloo Paratha – an Indian flatbread which is stuffed with a spicy potato filling. This bread was delicious, though a bit time-consuming to make. For the filling, I didn’t bother grating the potatoes but used my potato masher which worked perfectly! For the mustard oil, I couldn’t find black mustard seeds but had to work with yellow ones – I have no idea if that made a difference. Can anyone tell me what the difference is between the two? Answers as “The color” won’t be accepted, though ;o). Making the dough balls was easy, stuffing them with the potato filling balls was, too. I was a little bit afraid of the filling coming through the dough when rolling it out but this didn’t happen. I was thinking about buying ghee for brushing the bread while it cooks in the pan, but then I discovered “Butterschmalz” (clarified butter) in the back of my fridge and a quick search revealed that ghee is heated longer than Butterschmalz, but other than that they are the same. Not sure, if the result would have been even better with real ghee. Anyway, most of the breads puffed up in the pan really nicely, and we enjoyed them with Indian-spiced chicken with tomato chutney (that’s what Abby had served them with) and tamarind chutney. REALLY good!

6 responses to “Mellow Bakers March 2011 – Aloo Paratha

  1. Love the ballooning picture! I couldn’t find black mustard seeds, either, so I decided that there wasn’t a difference…if there was, the store would carry them both, right?!😉

  2. First of all this is really beautiful… Always wanted to make them.

    I will continue to follow you, but my blog has been lost somewhere and I cannot get it back. Will stat a new blog in about a month’s time and I will let you know when I am back.

    Blogspot kidnapped my blog,
    Google held it ransom
    And not even a sympathetic posse
    of bloggers could get it back.

    RIP

  3. Oh, im rechten Augenblick die Kamera zur Hand! Sind schön aufgegangen.

  4. Wonderful close up of the paratha!! This one’s shape reminded me of a stingray (having seen alot of them while scuba diving). I read that black sesame seeds are the most pungent of all sesame seeds. I was at a mega grocery store in Fairfield Ohio a few weeks back & saw they carried huge bags of these in the Indian section. Too many for me, but I’m pretty sure Penzey’s spices carries them. They are also sometimes used in Mediterranean cooking. I might pick up a small quanity of them up just to see the taste difference and to use in Indian dishes. Glad you liked the aloo paratha!

  5. I’ve always wanted to make this! Yours looks perfect.

  6. Brilliant stuff. I have failed to make the ww breads this month. Will try harder in April.

    It is easier to get black mustard seed here than the yellow ones, which usually only go in pickles here like piccalili, a classic English pickle for eating with a ploughman’s lunch. The black ones are more decorative/contrasty. Husband says that the yellow ones are hotter…

Leave a Reply

