Modern Baker Challenge – No-Roll Flaky Dough

I volunteered to write the post about the no-roll flaky dough which is one of the basic doughs for many of the savory tarts of the Modern Baker Challenge. For me, it is the best dough as can be concluded from the fact that whenever Malgieri offers to choose between one of the other doughs and the no-roll flaky dough I opted for the latter one. I have no idea if it’s the best dough tastewise, but the fact that this dough doesn’t have to be rolled out is unbeatable. My dough-rolling abilities stink. Really!

Anyway, the no-roll flaky dough is easy. You combine flour, salt and baking powder in a food processor, add butter, pulse a couple of times, add water and pulse some more until the dough looks like a crumb topping. Then you distribute the dough in the tart pan and press it down. That’s it. Easy as pie. Try it!

I used it for the Ham and Egg Tart, the Corn Pudding Tart, the Gruyère, Scallion and Walnut Tart, the Swiss Onion Tart, and the Tomato and Cantal Tart.

4 responses to “Modern Baker Challenge – No-Roll Flaky Dough

  1. Pingback: No-roll Flaky Pastry Dough {ModBak} « Of Cabbages & King Cakes

  2. My dough rolling skills need major work too! I’m woefully behind on this chapter but I’d always go no-roll whenever I can too!

  3. Looks easy…I made it but I still prefer rolling dough for some reason, rolling dough is easy for me and this stuff drives me nuts trying to get it even and neat. I need to work on this one some more. Yours looks great.

  4. Pingback: Modern Baker Challenge – Tomato Cantal Tart | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

