Modern Baker Challenge – Swiss Onion Tart

The fifth recipe I made from the Savory Tarts section of Nick Malgieri’s “The Modern Baker” for the Modern Baker Challenge was the Swiss Onion Tart. I again chose the no-roll flaky dough because I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m too unintelligent to roll out tart doughs. And as with the Gruyère, Scallion and Walnut Tart, I used 10 mini tartlet forms. I also had about half of that custard left, so I didn’t make a new one because when I read through the ingredients, I realized that both custards are about the same, except for the flour in the swiss onion tart. Thus, I just added some flour to the custard, added the caramelized onions and poured it into the crust. Oh wait, Malgieri says you can also add some gruyère which I happily did. I did omit the bacon, though, because I really can’t stand bacon. This tart is quite ok. Not great, not bad, just plain ok. I’m not a big fan of the sweet flavor of the onions, so I don’t think I’ll make it again.

5 responses to “Modern Baker Challenge – Swiss Onion Tart

  1. Pingback: Modern Baker Challenge: Gruyère, Scallion and Walnut Tart | Family & Food & Other Things

  2. I just love onion tarts..the caramelized onions..mmm

  3. I thought this one was really good, but then I love caramelized onions. It was a strange mix of ingredients, but it worked well.

  4. Pingback: Modern Baker Challenge – No-Roll Flaky Dough | Family & Food & Other Things

  5. I loved this one, but you know me and anything onion…win win win! lol Yours looks great and I would happily have that on my plate!

Leave a Reply

