Mellow Bakers March 2011 – Whole-Spelt Levain

My first bread for the Mellow Bakers this month was the Whole-Wheat Levain. I love baking with spelt and as you can use spelt and wheat interchangeably (spelt is a subspecies of wheat) I thought I’d make a whole-spelt levain bread. Here, spelt is easily available and not that much more expensive than wheat. And as I have my own grain mill, I always buy spelt kernels.

My liquid levain came to life pretty fast (yay!), and everything else was really easy. I made 2 round loaves and even think that my scoring was successful this time😉. Tastewise, this bread was fine. Even the kids liked it!

8 responses to “Mellow Bakers March 2011 – Whole-Spelt Levain

  1. These look fantastic! I’ve never baked with spelt, but have been reading so much about it lately…I will have to try it! How does it taste in relation to wheat flour?

    • I don’t really know how to describe the flavor. I find wheat to be more “neutral” than spelt. It’s a little more difficult to work with spelt, though, because the dough is looser. Also, it doesn’t keep fresh as well as wheat and becomes dry sooner. But that is not a problem here because the bread vanishes really fast.

  2. Whole spelt or only 50 % like in the recipe😉

  3. Those look excellent! 🙂

  4. I’ve never tried baking with spelt, but this loaf has inspired me.🙂

  5. So pretty, I love the design on the outside of the loaf and the inside just looks so delicious. You are really great at these breads, Andrea!

  6. The scoring looks really wonderful!! I am loving spelt more and more. I even made some 100% spelt flour cookies last week.

Leave a Reply

