Abby’s Cheese Hoppers by Emeril Lagasse

When I saw that Abby had posted “cheese hoppers” (read her post for the explanation of that name) for the Twitter Chef Avatar Fun I immediately knew I had to make them, too. My family loves cheesy snacks! And now we have a new favorite cheesy snack – Cheese Hoppers ;-)!

I didn’t have the exact spice mixture the recipe called for, so I left out onion powder (never heard of it), celery salt (never heard of it, either), and dry mustard powder. This recipe already had called for dry mustard powder, and after some explanations my Twitter pals had given me I ordered it from an online source, but for some reason the package never got it here😦.

Beware: these are ADDICTIVE!!!!!!!!!

Cheesy Snacks (aka Cheese Hoppers)

(adapted from Emeril Lagasse)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup finely grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2 tsp baby bam (Emeril’s spice mixture made of: paprika, salt, dried parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper, dried oregano, dried basil, dried thyme, celery salt)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dry mustard powder
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter, cold, cut into pieces
  • 2 tbsp cold water
  • 1 egg white

Directions:

  1. Mix flour, cheese, spices in a food processor fitted with the metal blade.
  2. Add butter and pulse until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  3. Add cold water and pulse until mixture becomes a smooth dough.
  4. Form dough into a disk, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  5. Using a lightly floured rolling pin, roll dough to a 1/8 inch thickness.
  6. Cut the dough using tiny cookie cutters (about 1 inch). Gather up leftover scraps, reroll and recut.
  7. Place cut out shapes on a baking sheet and paint with egg whites.
  8. Bake in a 375F oven for 15 minutes.

4 responses to “Abby’s Cheese Hoppers by Emeril Lagasse

  1. I love this place for spices–though they probably don’t post to Germany, thought I’d include the link!

    http://www.thespicehouse.com/

  2. So glad you and your kiddos loved these! They are so cute in their little jars. (Sorry I just disappeared from Twitter…it’s usually blocked at work, but it’s been open this afternoon…and then right while I was writing to you, they blocked it again and I can’t get back. =( Have a great night.)

  3. That’s it, I’m going to have to get to these sooner rather than later. I printed it off when I saw Abby’s and thought maybe they would be cute for Easter baskets, but I am thinking I might need to do a trial run or two beforehand. Love them in those little jars with their fancy lids.

  4. I’m with Kayte–after seeing you and Abby make these, now I want to! Yum!

Leave a Reply

