Mellow Bakers February 2011 – Whole-Spelt Bread with a Multigrain Soaker

I LOVE multigrain bread so when I had to choose between 3 whole-wheat breads for the Mellow Bakers this month I opted for the one with the multigrain soaker. Usually I make a half recipe or even 1/3, but this time I thought I’d try 3 different versions with the whole recipe: rolls, free-form loaf and sandwich loaf. I did change something in the recipe, though. I didn’t have any wheat on hand, but I always have some spelt and spelt flour, so I decided to make a whole-spelt bread. For the multigrain soaker I used coarse cornmeal, millet, oats and flaxseed. The whole process was easy – the only thing I regret is that I didn’t put a double batch into my loaf pan – my sandwich loaf is rather flat. I can’t say anything about the loafs yet, we’ll cut into them tomorrow, but we had the rolls for dinner tonight and they got rave reviews. A little crunchy from the multigrain soaker, a little sweet from the honey – this is a really nice recipe I’ll make again.

3 responses to “Mellow Bakers February 2011 – Whole-Spelt Bread with a Multigrain Soaker

  1. We enjoyed this bread, too…your version sounds really good. Love the roll idea…I’ll have to do that next time.

  2. I am always amazed at the lovely breads you bake. I am so jealous!

  3. Those are all really nice, I love the idea of making rolls…the rolls are just always a hit with the guys here. I have not made anything with spelt and I need to find some of that and try it and see what it is like, thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

