Bake! – Danish Cheese Pockets

I finally have my own version of Bake!, Nick Malgieri’s new baking book. After my first disappointment when I made the New Orleans Praline Pound Cake which was just kind of meh to me (the hubby did like it a lot, though) I was hoping my 2nd recipe from this book would be a winner. My twitter pals chose Danish cheese pockets: Abby has made them already, Kayte, Phyl, Marthe and maybe Margaret (she’s going through a really tough time right now – lots of hugs  from across the ocean!!!) will make them today or sometime soon.

This recipe requires making a Danish pastry dough – I chose the yeasted version on page 110, but will try the ricotta version from page 111 soon, too. I made the dough Friday night, gave it a couple of turns, stuck it in the fridge and pulled it out today. I made the filling which consists of cream cheese, sugar, egg yolk and vanilla extract, and then I started pressing and rolling out the dough. I’m really not good at that at all because I never seem to be able to get nice squares or rectangles or circles, but this time it worked quite fine (don’t look at the picture too closely, you’ll WILL find some imperfect areas, but they were good enough for me ;-)). Cutting into squares, putting cream cheese filling on the squares, folding, a 30-minute rise, egg wash, baking and icing. That’s it! I was a little afraid because after the 30-minute rise they hadn’t puffed at all, but I stuck them into the oven anyway and they had a wonderful oven spring there.

The result was awesome. We devoured them today and totally loved them! Crispy with some layers, a little sweet – this was a winner. I’ve never had Danish pastry before – they do sell it here (here, it’s called Plunder) – but it has never looked really appealing to me. I might buy some Plunder next week to see how it compares to my version.

9 responses to “Bake! – Danish Cheese Pockets

  1. These look delicious!! I’m about to finish mine….. Can’t wait t0 try them

  2. Those look great! Like they came from a bakery. I was going to skip these for now, but I might have to make them after seeing yours.

  3. They look perfect! And I love your process photos…you did a much better job than I did of getting squares. =) Glad you loved them!!

  4. Those look so tasty! Nice job. Didn’t even know about “Bake!” until I read this post. Looking forward to seeing what else you bake from it.

  5. These look delicious. I am sorry to say that my first exposure to danishes was at mcdonalds, but I loved them–it was really just the cream filling. I no longer buy them at mcdonalds, or really anywhere–they are often served at these breakfast buffets but the pastry is usually terrible–I am sure it’s some cheap crisco product rather than butter that is the culprit. I will have to try these!

  6. Wow, they look perfect. I’m glad you gave Nick’s book another try. I borrowed his book from the library. So many good looking recipes. Would love to try his Ciabatta. Before I had a chance to bake from it, I had to return it. Will borrow it again and bake from it, and then decide if I need my own copy🙂

    First time here. Lovely blog with lots of fabulous looking food (sweet and savory). We both have a friend in common, Marthe🙂 Will visit again. Please feel free to do the same.

  7. Yum! I love cheese danish. I’ve made danish dough before (from Sherry Yard’s Secrets of Baking) but it’s been a long time. I think I need to make some now. =)

  8. I was waiting for Margaret to make these as she has had so many scheduling conflicts and I didn’t want her to have to make them alone since it was her pick, but I may just have to go ahead and make them myself if I can’t get her moving in that direction! They look really wonderful!

  9. Pingback: Bake! – Danish Apricot (Plum) Pinwheels | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

