Mellow Bakers December 2010: Irish Soda Bread

I am so proud of myself – not only have I baked the first of three January Mellow Bakers breads already, but I even dug out the December list and just made one of the breads I then had skipped ; -) – Irish Soda Bread.

It was important not to overwork the dough, so I mixed flour, ground wheat flakes (which I flaked with my Flic Floc Flaker), milk powder, sugar, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and buttermilk very shortly on first speed, so that the dough just came together. Then I turned out the dough on a floured work surface and shaped it into a more or less round boule (which was difficult because the dough was really wet). I flattened the dough piece a little bit, floured the surface thoroughly and transferred it to a sheet pan. Then I divided the dough into 4 equal sections by cutting down about 80 percent of the way. I baked the bread at 475°F for 15 minutes and then for another 15 minutes at 450°F.

My verdict: I hadn’t expected such a beautiful loaf – I was really surprised when I took it out of the oven. Tastewise, it was ok. Nothing great. A decent bread. But when you take into account what an easy and quick bread this is, the flavor is surprisingly good! My kids at least want me to make it again😉.

5 responses to “Mellow Bakers December 2010: Irish Soda Bread

  1. That is one very beautiful loaf of soda bread! I wish I had some of that right now with this soup I am eating…that would be just great. Always a good sign when the kids want you to make more!

  2. That’s a beauty! I’d be proud of that one too – hey and great that the kids like it, what a bonus.😀

    You can always make this bread muffin style, in paper cups for breakfast, I sometimes sprinkle pumpkin seeds and so on on the top, in fact I really like soda bread that way🙂

  3. It IS beautiful! I’m so impressed! And glad your kiddos liked it . . . no one in my family did.:/

  4. That looks great! I haven’t made soda bread in a long time. I should try this one with some of the Irish wholemeal flour I got from KAF.

Leave a Reply

