Mellow Bakers January 2011: Pullman Bread

I’ve been a bad Mellow Baker – only 1 bread in December, and not even a real post about it. OK, so my resolution for 2011: to be a better Mellow Baker again😉. Thus, out of the three breads for January I’ve made one already, and it’s only January 3rd! I chose Pullman bread to be the first bread in 2011, and this was a good choice.

I had to do some math in the beginning to figure out how much dough would be appropriate for my toast bread tin, neither the metric column nor the home column were really appropriate.

The rest was easy: I mixed all the ingredients (flour, milk powder, sugar, butter, water, salt, and yeast), kneaded the dough for about 10 minutes, let it ferment for 2 hours (I totally forgot the folding after 1 hour of fermentation) and then divided the dough into 14 equal portions. You might ask why 14? Well, as I used my toast bread tin, I just did what I always do when I make toast bread – divide the dough into 14 portions, shape rolls and place them in the tin. I proofed the loaf for 1 1/2 hours and baked it for 45 minutes.

Verdict: The crust is surprisingly thick, I think I might have overbaked it a little bit. My tin is not as high as a Pullman tin, so I probably should have taken it out of the oven after maybe 40 minutes or so. But other than that, the crumb was nice. It doesn’t look that nice in the picture above because I cut into it 40 minutes after it came out of the oven which was too early – but the next morning (aka today) the crumb was totally fine. This is a nice, easy sandwich bread! I might add some whole wheat flour next time to make it a little healthier😉.

4 responses to “Mellow Bakers January 2011: Pullman Bread

  1. I think it looks perfect! So fun to bake this one at the same time as you. =)

  2. That looks spectacular. I want to make one of those. But first I need the pan. I’m putting it on the list. Looks like so much fun!

  3. Pingback: Mellow Bakers December 2010: Irish Soda Bread | Family & Food & Other Things

  4. I want a pullman pan! =) I like your technique of forming the dough into small balls & putting them all in the pan so they bake together.

Leave a Reply

