Di’s Virtual Cookie Exchange – Biscotti

My contribution for Di’s Virtual Cookie Exchange: Biscotti. I’ve never made biscotti, but have heard (aka read) about them a couple of times, so they were on my soon-to-make list. Last night, when I was catching up on my twitter colleagues, I realized Phyl and Kayte were doing another twitterbake, so I asked if I could just jump in (so did Abby) and bake something, too. I had no idea what to make, and then I read Phyl was going to make cranberry pumpkin biscotti, and I remembered I had them on my to do list, so I checked one of my most beloved cookbook (Mark Bittman’s “How to cook everything”), and yes, it does have a biscotti recipe. And as fate would have it, I had all ingredients on hand. I added cranberries to half of the dough and chocolate chips to the other half. Assembling everything was quite easy, as was the whole baking process: biscotti means “twice baked”, so yes, they went into the oven twice: first, as a whole log, and then as slices. Today, we munched all of them and dipped them in hot chocolate (the hubby and kiddos) and black tea (me). Verdict: YUM!!!

Biscotti

(adapted from “How to Cook Everything” by Mark Bittman)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 1 or 2 tblsp milk if necessary
  • 1/2 cup cranberries (left whole)
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Heat the oven to 375°F. Use an electric mixer to cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy; add the eggs, one at a time, and beat until well blended.
  2. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the dough a little at a time, beating until just incorporated and adding a little milk if needed to bring the dough together.
  3. Line 2 baking sheets with baking paper. Divide the dough in half, add cranberries to one half of the dough, the chocolate chips to the other half, and shape each half into a 2-inch-wide log. Put each log on a baking sheet.
  4. Bake until the loaves are golden and beginning to crack on top, about 30 minutes; cool the logs on the sheets for a few minutes. Lower the oven temperature to 250°F.
  5. When the loaves are cool enough to handle, use a serrated knife to cut each on a diagonal into 1/2-inch-thick slices. Put the slices on the sheets, return them to the oven, and leave them there, turning once, until they dry out, 15 to 20 minutes. Cool on wire racks. These will keep in an airtight container for several days.

7 responses to “Di’s Virtual Cookie Exchange – Biscotti

  1. They look wonderful! I’ve never tried biscotti either…will have to get to them soon. Wasn’t the Twitterbake fun? =)

  2. Gorgeous Biscotti!! I made biscotti once and loved them!

  3. Those look great, Andrea! I don’t make biscotti nearly often enough. I have a ton of cranberries in my fridge; this would be a great way to use up some of them. =) Thanks for joining in the Cookie Exchange!

  4. Nice job, Andrea. So glad to have you Twitterbaking and virually exchanging cookies with us! Now, if you’d just pick up a copy of “Bake!”…

  5. Your biscotti are so festive – and perfect for dunking in a hot beverage of choice!! I’ve made biscotti a couple of times but you’re inspiring me to bake them again sooner rather than later. It figures that Bittman would have a recipe in that amazing book of his!

  6. Wow, you did a great job making those for the first time, I always seem to get recipes that crumble easily, so I am going to try this one. Thanks. We got a ton of snow here, we are slowly digging our way out so Mark can go to work, school is cancelled, so once we get everyone situated around, I hope to get my cookie post finished. In the meantime, I will just use yours as inspiration.

  7. Pingback: Some more holiday baking | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

