Mellow Bakers November 2010: Country Bread

There is not much to say about the Mellow Bakers‘ country bread other than: This is a keeper recipe. Instead of wheat flour I took spelt flour because that’s what I had on hand. The crumb was amazing: big, irregular holes, almost ciabatta-like. Yes, the dough was rather wet and quite difficult to handle, but the result was totally worth it!!!!

2 responses to “Mellow Bakers November 2010: Country Bread

  1. Glad you loved this one…it definitely wasn’t one of our favorites. I haven’t ever used spelt flour, but I guess the time is near. =)

  2. Celia over at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial makes lots of spelt bread and I am trying again, though I add it into the mix rather than use it straight. I bet it made that bread taste amazing! It’s wonderfully flavoured flour. And if your kids liked it – I can see why it’s a keeper🙂

Leave a Reply

