Afghani Meatballs with Noodles tossed in Yogurt

I have no idea how I stumbled on “My Kitchen, My World” – a blog dedicated to experiencing other cultures through food. Anyway, I thought this month’s destination – Afghanistan – sounded pretty interesting because I have absolutely NO knowledge of Afghani food. Thus, I selected a recipe I found here – Afghani meatballs with noodles tossed in yogurt – which I thought would be something my family would actually eat. And yes, we were thrilled! The cinnamon flavored meatballs were GREAT!

Next destination: GERMANY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hmm, what to make, what to make? The typical German Christmas goose? Or typical German Stollen? Or typical German Christmas cookies (Plätzchen)? All of them (I AM German and live in Germany)!!! But which one will I choose to be featured here for “My Kitchen, My World”? Stay tuned!

Afghani Meatballs with Noodles tossed in Yogurt

(adapted from “AsiaRecipe.com”)

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper
  • salt to taste
  • black pepper to taste
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tblsp vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 6 large ripe tomatoes, chopped
  • 4 sun-dried tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 1 lb egg noodles
  • 1 1/2 cups plain yogurt
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup fresh mint, chopped

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, combine the beef, cinnamon, coriander, turmeric, cayenne, salt, pepper, and half of the garlic. With clean hands, mix thouroughly, then shape the meat into 3/4-inch meatballs. Set them aside.
  2. In a large, flameproof casserole, heat the oil, add the onion, and cook over low heat for 10-15 minutes or until it is very soft. Turn the meat to medium-high and add the meatballs. Cook, turning them often, until they lose their pink color.
  3. Add the tomatoes and remaining garlic. Cover the pan, turn down the heat, and simmer gently for 10 minutes. Add the sun-dried tomatoes, salt, and pepper and cook the mixture for 5 minutes over low heat, stirring once or twice.
  4. For the noodles, bring a large saucepan of water to a boil. Add the noodles until they are tender, but still have some bite. Drain the noodles and transfer them to a bowl. Stir in the yogurt, garlic, and salt. Toss thoroughly and transfer to 6 wide bowls.
  5. Spoon meatballs around the edges of each bowl of noodles, add the mint to the center and serve at once.

Serves 6.

4 responses to “Afghani Meatballs with Noodles tossed in Yogurt

  1. Wow those meatballs look really juicy and delicious. Noodle tossed in yoghurt sounds interesting! I will really have to try this.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Those look great…I am so happy you found this group…I stumbled on it a bit ago as well, and have been making it each month since (except Japan, I sort of ran out of time with Japan). Have something in mind for Afghan, just need to get to it as I am running out of time again…your choice looks really great!

  3. Welcome!!! So happy to have yo part of the group! I would never have thought cinnamon in meatballs would be good. Interesting. See you in Germany!!

  4. what a wonderful combination of herbs and spices.

Leave a Reply

