Modern Baker Challenge: Cinnamon Pecan Breakfast Ring

What can I say about the Cinnamon Raisin Breakfast Ring? Please, go get Nick Malgieri’s “The Modern Baker” and make it, and I would be surprised if you didn’t like it as much as we did. You might want to consider omitting the raisins as we did – we didn’t miss them at all!

This recipe uses a recipe I just made for the Modern Baker Challenge – the Quick Brioche Braid. I changed the procedure a little bit, though – I didn’t use the food processor because my tiny food processor would hold only a half recipe, but the breakfast ring calls for a whole recipe of brioche dough. Thus, I just threw all the ingredients into my kitchen machine and mixed the dough the conventional way. Rolling out the dough was a little tricky – you really should make sure to GENEROUSLY flour the counter! As I’ve already mentioned, we didn’t want the raisins in the breakfast ring, so I just put the cinnamon-sugar-butter mixture and 2/3 of the pecans on the rolled out dough, rolled it up, shaped a ring, cut slits in the ring, twisted each section so the filling was visible, and let it rise in the fridge overnight (the recipe calls for a 2-hour rise, but we wanted to have this for breakfast, and there’s NO way I’m getting up at like 3 am to prepare bread for breakfast). I DID get up at 5:45 am, though, to preheat the oven and to take the ring out of the fridge. I brushed it with an egg wash and sprinkled it with the remaining pecans and baked it for about 30 minutes.

Let me tell you – our breakfast was DIVINE!!!! Fluffy, and sweet, and nutty. OMG, just awesome!!! And the kids asked me to put a slice in their lunchbox – I told them that if their teachers told them they weren’t allowed to have cake in their lunchbox, they should answer “This is not a cake, this is a cinnamon pecan bread!”.

7 responses to “Modern Baker Challenge: Cinnamon Pecan Breakfast Ring

  1. This weekend you think? You think I can wait as long as this weekend? Maybe, maybe not…it looks really really good. I am almost certain this could work for an evening dessert here as well…lol!

  2. I’m sure it was DIVINE!!! Love how you made the ring. I have to try that!

  3. Wow, after a review like that, I MUST make this one! Sounds awesome! =)

  4. Everything I make is Divine. Your ring looks great! I agree, this was a really good recipe. And kind of fun to make.

  5. It was fantastic wasn’t it! Nice job!!

  6. Wow, that looks fabulous. I love things with cinnamon and pecans. Yum!

Leave a Reply

