Modern Baker Challenge – One-Step Croissants

We’ve opened a new section in Nick Malgieri’s book “The Modern Baker” – yeast-risen specialties. One of my assigned breads in the Modern Baker Challenge are the one-step croissants – I’ve wanted to make my own croissants for a long time already and couldn’t wait to make these.

The recipe couldn’t have been easier – dissolving yeast in some milk, combining flour, sugar and salt in a food processor, some pulsing, adding some cold butter, some more pulsing, adding some more butter and pulsing again, adding the milk and pulsing again. Then you invert everything to a floured surface, press the dough into a ball, flatten it into a rough rectangle, roll it out a little, do some folding and let it rise in a bag for about 1 1/2 hours. After it has risen, you deflate the dough in the bag and refrigerate it for an hour. Then you roll it out to a rectangle, straighten the edges and cut the dough into triangles, which you roll up and curve to make a crescent shape. Some rising, egg wash and sesame seeds sprinkles, and of course, baking. Et voilá: croissants.

Boy, these were delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They didn’t look as neat as in the book so I guess I have to practise my shaping skills, but my kids and hubby were thrilled! And I was, too ;-)!

9 responses to “Modern Baker Challenge – One-Step Croissants

  1. Can’t wait to try these! Excited that you thought they were delicious. =)

  2. Wow! So much easier/faster than the traditional method. I’ll definitely have to try these. Thanks for writing about it!

  3. I does look easy. SOmething Iwould fenitely try.

  4. They look delicious!! I can’t wait to get to these!

  5. I’m glad you had such a good experience with these. I’ve been wanting to try them since my success with Nick’s puff pastry dough, which employs a similar method. Thanks for a great write up!

  6. Nothing like croissants, is there? A good croissant is sublime, a bad one is beyond disappointment.

    I want to go to Paris again. Sigh…

  7. Yum! I can’t wait to try these!!

  8. Those look really interesting. I love croissants, and have made them once. The dough was time consuming, but the finished product was totally worth it. A quicker version sounds like a great idea.

  9. Pingback: One-Step Croissants {ModBak} « Of Cabbages & King Cakes

Leave a Reply

