The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 10/10: Doughnuts

The October 2010 Daring Bakers challenge was hosted by Lori of Butter Me Up. Lori chose to challenge DBers to make doughnuts. She used several sources for her recipes including Alton Brown, Nancy Silverton, Kate Neumann and Epicurious.

My post comes incredibly late, but I’ve been incredibly busy. As inspiration for my doughnuts I used Di’s post – she used the sweet dough recipe from Peter Reinhart’s book “Artisan Breads Every Day” – a dough I’ve successfully used for Thumbprint Rolls and Cinnamon Buns. And now for doughnuts. I’ve never made doughnuts before and I was really scared to deep fry, but everything worked out perfectly, and the doughnuts were extremely yummy!

5 responses to “The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 10/10: Doughnuts

  1. I am so curious about your experiences with deep frying. I’ve had Di’s recipe bookmarked forever, but I am really intimidated about the frying process. How did it go? Did it make your whole house smell?

    • I was so intimidated, too, but I closely followed Di’s directions concerning the temperature of the oil, and then it was really easy. The only issue I had: the house really DOES smell for quite some time!

  2. I’m afraid of the hot oil too–not so much the smell but maybe those descriptions of medieval ‘boiling in oil’ were just too vivid for me.
    Since it’s apple season here there are apple cider donuts everywhere. I don’t know a recipe but surely there is one on the internet. If you’re up for this again you should try to make those; they are delicious!

  3. They look delicious!! I’ve gotten to behind on Daring Kitchen recipes. Great job!

  4. I’m so glad that things worked well for you! I love the chocolate glaze with sprinkles. Mmm. =)

Leave a Reply

