Forging Fromage (7) – Ricotta Salata

This month’s Forging Fromage focus is ricotta salata – the pressed, salted and dried variety of ricotta cheese. You first have to make ricotta, and as I’ve always wanted to make the ricotta bread from Dan Leader’s “Local Breads”, I just made 2 batches – one for the ricotta bread and one for the ricotta salata.

So, after several days of leaving the ricotta salata in the fridge, salting and re-wrapping it, we tried the first slices and were disappointed – the hubby said it tasted like firm salted milk. I agree… Additionally, I had problems with the texture – I really don’t like soft cheeses. Here’s hoping next month’s challenge will be a success flavorwise ;o).

2 responses to “Forging Fromage (7) – Ricotta Salata

  1. Ooh, so sorry it didn’t deliver. Mine is still curing. I am hoping for the best..🙂

  2. Sorry to hear it. Was looking forward to the salata as it is one my most favorite.

Leave a Reply

