Perfect All-American Chocolate Torte – The Cake Bible

Thanks to my dear friend Sara, I now own “The Cake Bible” by Rose Levy Beranbaum. I was absolutely thrilled when she got me this book for my birthday. Thank you so much, Sara!!!

So when this weekend our annual daycare flea market was up, I decided to make the Perfect All-American Chocolate Torte because the stall fee always is one cake and 3 Euros, and the recipe sounded like it wouldn’t take up too much time.

The recipe is rather easy to mix together. The only problem I had was that the recipe is for a 9-inch springform, whereas I only have a 7-inch and a 10-inch springform. So I had to convert the ingredient amounts to fit my 10-inch springform. When it came out of the oven, I glazed it with a dark chocolate glaze and then decorated it with a vanilla glaze. It looked and smelled great! I had to share one slice with my family and we all really loved it.

Can anyone tell me why it is called All-American? Does this mean it’s a typical American chocolate cake?

Perfect All-American Chocolate Torte

(adapted from “The Cake Bible” by Rose Levy Beranbaum)

Ingredients:

  • 1,5 oz unsweetened cocoa
  • 5,5 oz boiling water
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 5,5 oz sifted cake flour
  • 7 oz sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 5 oz unsalted, softened butter

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Whisk together the cocoa and boiling water until smooth, cool to room temparatue.
  3. Combine the eggs, 1/4 of the cocoa mixture and vanilla.
  4. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add the butter and remaining cocoa mixture. Mix on low speed until the dry ingredients are moistened. Increase to medium speed and beat for 1 1/2 minutes to aerate and develop the cake’s structure. Scrape down the sides.
  5. Gradually add the egg mixture in 3 batches, beating for 20 seconds after each addition. Scrape down the sides.
  6. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan (9-inch springform, lined with baking paper) and smooth the surface with a spatula – the pan will be about 1/2 full.
  7. Bake 30 minutes until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

2 responses to “Perfect All-American Chocolate Torte – The Cake Bible

  1. Yes, it probably means something like that–quintessential or most typical? Glad you are enjoying the book. I can’t remember if I have made that one or not. Very impressed you converted the proportions to a 10″ pan!

  2. I had that book and gave it away. Too bad i am not and indian giver….great torte!

Leave a Reply

