The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 08/10: Ice Cream Petits Fours

The August 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Elissa of 17 and Baking. For the first time, The Daring Bakers partnered with Sugar High Fridays for a co-event and Elissa was the gracious hostess of both. Using the theme of beurre noisette, or browned butter, Elissa chose to challenge Daring Bakers to make a pound cake to be used in either a Baked Alaska or in Ice Cream Petits Fours. The sources for Elissa’s challenge were Gourmet magazine and David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop”. You can find the challenge recipes here.

I’m not going to write much because this has been my first Daring Bakers flop. Making the pound cake with browned butter was easy, even though I might have baked it a little too long because it was a tad too dry – whereas the raw dough was just AWESOME. I really had arguments going on in my head between the part that wanted to save the dough for the cake and the part that just wanted to eat the plain dough😉. Also, making the ice cream was no big deal because I’ve been making my own ice cream for quite a while now. And the chocolate glaze was easy, too. But then everything started to go wrong:  the ice cream didn’t stick to the cake layers, everything fell apart when trying to glaze them, and the chocolate glaze would melt the ice cream so the ice cream layer was a lot skinnier than the cake layer. Oh well….

13 responses to “The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 08/10: Ice Cream Petits Fours

  1. And yet…they DO look chocolate-EE and delicious. I bet they taste perfect! I’m so late this time, I’m still making mine right this minute – yikes.

  2. How’d they taste? Because honestly, even if they don’t look 100% perfect, they still look tasty!!

  3. Well I have had many flops with daring bakers…and I am only a few challenges it! I made the petit fours too – so MUCH WORK!@

  4. Hey, if that is a “flop” then I would say you are doing pretty darn well. Sorry that the finished cake didn’t come out as you’d hoped, and that your petit fours didn’t come together as expected, but they still look pretty good, and each component was delicious. Here’s to next month!

  5. The petit fours are definitely tricky, and even if yours didn’t turn out exactly how you wanted, I hope they tasted good!🙂 The brown butter pound cake is a favorite in my house. Thanks for participating!

  6. Oh what a shame but it still looks great and I bet it tastes good too! I loved the raw batter too!😛

  7. I had some of the same issues! My cake was also dry and I also had the melting issue with the ice cream and chocolate glaze. I did about half my petit fours and then put the chocolate sauce in the fridge until is was cold just still drippy. I then did the second half of my petit fours with much more success. I think the directions were wrong. You want the glaze cold in my opinion.

  8. I didn’t have much success with my baked alaska. But I think you had more success with your petit fours. But the brown butter pound cake recipe was worth it🙂

  9. At least you found a cake recipe (or dough recipe). There’s an ice cream place here that makes “cake batter” flavored ice cream. Maybe you should try making that!

  10. I had the same problem! Everything went perfectly smoothly until glazing time – then it just became a big melty chocolatey mess! Yours still ended up looking good, though! And they tasted good, which is all that really matters, right?🙂

  11. Sorry you had some assembly problems. They still look like they tasted amazing.

Leave a Reply

