The Modern Baker Challenge – Prosciutto Bread

Prosciutto? What is prosciutto? I didn’t know until I delt with the next recipe for the Modern Baker Challenge. I’m not a big meat lover – I do like to eat some chicken every once in a while, and I really LOVE fish, but other meat and cold cuts – meh. This is probably the reason why I’ve never encountered the term “prosciutto”. Now I know that in English, the term prosciutto is almost always used for a dry-cured ham that is usually sliced thinly and served uncooked (thanks, Wikipedia ;-)).

I wasn’t sure if there was anything like prosciutto in my German grocery store – what a surprise it was when I actually found some. When I looked at it I wasn’t sure I would be able to eat it because I was scared of the huge fatty streaks in it. All you meat lovers, please don’t kill me, but I HAD to cut those streaks off. It’s not that I hate fat in general, I just hate the texture of fat streaks in meat. My mother could tell you looooong stories about me dissecting every piece of meat when I was a kid😉.

Anyway, as with every of Malgieri’s breads  putting the dough together was easy as pie. The recipe called for a big amount of black pepper – 1 tablespoon. The hubby and I like spicy food, so I went with it and added the whole amount. Well, what can I say? The smell from the oven was awesome. And I couldn’t resist having 2 slices right after it came out of the oven. The flavor was absolutely amazing – really peppery, but oh soooo good. Then a funny thing happened: I didn’t like the bread the next day AT ALL! The piggy flavor was overwhelming (in a bad sense), and the peppery flavor was almost gone. I tried toasting it to  mimic the situation from the day before, but it didn’t help. Can you tell me what happened? Anyway, if I make this bread again I make sure to be really hungry once the bread comes out of the oven so I can have my share right then and not the next day!

3 responses to “The Modern Baker Challenge – Prosciutto Bread

  1. “Piggy flavor”. What a great description! I’m not opposed to meat per se, but I don’t eat pig at all, so I used beef Lebanon bologna, which has a sweet, smokey flavor. It was good fresh from the oven and the next day. But I still missed the cheese.

  2. LOL on the piggy flavor. Yours looks so different than mine, which is what I love about sharing recipes, it is fun to see everyone’s end product! It looks great!

  3. So… eat the whole loaf as soon as it comes out of the oven…. I could manage that.🙂

Leave a Reply

