Bread Baking Buddies August 2010: Portuguese Sweet Bread

Tanna of My Kitchen in Half Cups was the Kitchen of the Month in August and made us Bread Baking Buddies bake Portuguese Sweet Bread. Can you imagine my excitement when I read the assignment? Portuguese Sweet Bread was one of my favorite breads in the BBA Challenge, after all – my second favorite, to be exact, after the Roasted Onion Parmesan Miche.

This recipe calls for a soaker. When I mixed the soaker with the remaining ingredients (of the 460 grams of flour, I used about 1 cup of whole-wheat flour, the rest was bread flour) I noticed that this dough was VERY wet. Some other Bread Baking Babes have had the same problem and just added more flour which is what I did, too. In the end, I’ve added about one more cup of flour than called for in the recipe. Oh, and I should mention that I used the maximum amount of sugar, 100 grams that is, because I have a massive sweet tooth.

The rest was not very difficult. Tanna presented a very interesting, though not very traditional, shape for this bread which I was eager to try out. Thus, I divided the dough in half and used Tanna’s technique for one loaf. The other half, I shaped into 16 tiny rolls of about 1 1/2 oz each and put them in my muffin tins. Both the loaf and the rolls rose very nicely, so I put them in the oven and baked them – the rolls for 20 minutes, and the loaf for 50 minutes.

This bread is really yummy. Not as good as the BBA version, though, which was a little more moist. My kids had rolls for their daycare breakfast in their lunchbox, and when my son came back from daycare he told me his teacher had been annoyed because he brought muffins and she asked him if he didn’t have any bread. Okaaaayyyyy…. I clarified this misunderstanding this morning and let her know, that he indeed had bread (rolls) in his lunchbox that were baked in a muffin tin. Maybe next time, I should put a label on it saying: I’m a roll, not a muffin😉.

9 responses to “Bread Baking Buddies August 2010: Portuguese Sweet Bread

  1. This is the second post today on Portugal. These sweat beads are amaizing.

  2. Yes I like that: I’m a bread roll not a muffin!
    I love your muffins with this. I’m going to do some of those very soon.
    The dryness you got probably was due to the extra flour you added in. It is a loose dough, silky, firm but not so firm as many other doughs.

  3. Your poor son!! And silly teacher for not realizing that it was indeed a roll he had in his box. Personally, I think both your large and small loaves look JUST like bread. Beautiful colour and lovely demarcations on the large loaf.

    I think maybe the recipe wording needs revising. The “Add remaining flour to make stiff dough.” is a little contradictory to the following phrase that appears a little later “Dough should be smooth, soft and very supple with a slight stickiness. Looks a little like very thick cake batter or a brioche dough.”

    Judging from other sweet dough breads I’ve made, I’m quite sure that this dough should be on the slack side – like a Savarin dough.

    When you make this bread again (you know you want to! it’s so good) cross out “to make stiff dough” and add “Without adding any more flour, knead 5 minutes or more to incorporate all the flour.”

  4. Oops seeing your pics I immediately thought it a marvellous idea and then I read the teachers response.. hehe but to her defence I can see where she is coming from; before you know it she’ll have heaps of kids complaining that HE has muffins and that it’s not allowed and not fair and and and.
    Still great idea, lovely bread!

  5. I love the little individual ones. I’m about to make the BBA version of this bread and am looking forward to it. I’m hoping Brianna will like it for her lunchbox. =)

  6. Lovely! I love the little rolls especially, so cute!
    Thanks so much for baking with us again this month. ☺

  7. hi
    this looks so good, especially in the muffin mould and it is nice to read about the teachers reaction:-). I have tried to bake this bread too and added a link to your blog since i first happened to see the badge in your blog.Have a look when you can:-)

  8. Well they’re gorgeous no matter what the teacher thinks! And maybe the kids learned that bread doesn’t have to come from the store or in a specific form to be bread. ☺ My daughter has been gaga over this bread as french toast, I’ll bet she’d love the “rolls” in her lunchbox. Thanks for the idea!

  9. Andrea, what a great idea to bake them in muffin trays, I’m definitely going to do that, maybe I’ll eat less of the bread in one sitting…..yeah, probably not….they look wonderful!

Leave a Reply

