The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Instant Sandwich Bread

After being successful with the Elegant Dinner Rolls, I really looked forward to making the next bread on my line-up of the Modern Baker Challenge: Instant Sandwich Bread. For those of you who are curious – this was another good bread!

The first thing I noticed about this recipe was that the bread isn’t baked in a loaf pan, but on a jelly-roll pan. I was confused – a jelly-roll pan? What exactly is the difference between a jelly-roll pan and a sheet pan? I remembered having read something about that in the “Equipment” chapter of the book, so I checked and found out that jelly-roll pans and sheet pans are exactly the same. The next problem I encountered was that the recipe is for a 12 x 18-inch pan. REALLY? Are American ovens THAT much bigger than German ovens (and yes, my oven is a standard oven)? My sheet pans are 12 x 14 inches. So I had to downsize the recipe, I would have to make only 80% of the dough.

Anyway, I put 80% of all the ingredients in my kitchen machine (again, I didn’t use my 2-cup food processor), kneaded for about 6 minutes, let the dough rest for 30 minutes and scraped it into the prepared pan. I didn’t have to do much pressing because the dough was rather fluid. I let it rise for another hour, preheated the oven and baked the bread for 25 minutes at 400°F.

And now, this is the thing: this bread was really similar to the Turkish flatbread we can buy here in Germany only that it was rectangular – the Turkish flatbread from the MBC (aka Modern Baker Challenge) didn’t resemble what I had expected at all. Look at the crumb shot above – soft “crust”, fluffy and holey crumb – I’ve found the recipe for German Turkish flatbread. YAY! And tastewise it was really nice, too. This is a recipe I’ll make again!

7 responses to “The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Instant Sandwich Bread

  1. Wow, that looks so interesting, I wasn’t expecting those holes like that, but I love bread with holes like that so now I am excited about this bread. Will I ever get to it? That’s the big question…we are in championship swim season with my son and when that is finished, I am thinking that it will be time to bake bread again! Catch up at that point, hopefully. Your bread looks delicious!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Instant Sandwich Bread « Family & Food & Other Things -- Topsy.com

  3. Looks delicious! I liked this one, too, but not quite as much as you did. I tried to think of it as a sandwich bread, and that just didn’t work for me.

  4. I’ve been so intrigued by this one . . . I’m glad to know that you were a fan! Your photos look great!

  5. Very interesting! I’m not intrigued. I’ll have to try this one soon!

  6. I like it too. Interesting that you compare it to the turkish flat bread. I was not quite sure where to place the taste. Your bread came out great. I am using my German pans which are 38×44 cm and they work out great.

  7. this was such a good bread. I wish I had holes in mine, but it was pretty solid. Makes great sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

