Forging Fromage (3) – Fresh Cottage Cheese

I’ve recently started making cheese at home because I had discovered a website called Forging Fromage. Nothing really difficult yet (paneer & yogurt cheese so far), but I have to start somewhere, right? Anyway, the next cheese on my line-up was cottage cheese.

I adapted a recipe from Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian” and added some Herbs of Tuscany. Incredible! This was sooo yummy! I served it on homemade dinner rolls.

Fresh Cottage Cheese

(adapted from “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian” by Mark Bittman)

Ingredients:

  • 1 quart of milk
  • 4 tblsp lime juice
  • salt
  • 1 tblsp Herbs of Tuscany

Directions:

  1. Put the milk in a large, heavy-bottomed pot over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring occasionally to keep it from scorching, until the milk starts to bubble, 10-15 minutes.
  2. Line a strainer with 3 layers of cheesecloth.
  3. Add the lime juice to the boiling milk all at once and stir constantly until the mixture separates into curds and whey. Remove from the heat and stir in a large pinch of salt.
  4. Pour the curds and whey into the cloth-lined strainer and stir in 1 tblsp of Herbs of Tuscany.
  5. Leave the curds loose in the strainer until they’ve drained the amount of moisture you desire, about 20-30 minutes.
  6. Scoop the curds into a container and store in the refrigerator.

4 responses to “Forging Fromage (3) – Fresh Cottage Cheese

  1. Pingback: The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Elegant Dinner Rolls « Family & Food & Other Things

  2. It looks great! I don’t even like cottage cheese much, but I think maybe if I made it myself, I’d love it. I’m going to try this recipe. Thanks!

  3. You are rockin’ through these cheeses! This sounds fabulous with the herbs all mixed in. Keep it up, woman!

  4. Beautiful! I love the herbs in there too. ♥

Leave a Reply

