The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 07/10: Swiss Swirl Ice Cream Cake

The July 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Sunita of Sunita’s world – life and food. Sunita challenged everyone to make an ice-cream filled Swiss roll that’s then used to make a bombe with hot fudge. Her recipe is based on an ice cream cake recipe from Taste of Home. You can find the challenge recipe here.

It was my birthday this month, and like many other Daring Bakers, I made the Swiss swirl ice cream cake for my birthday. I had lots of trouble with the Swiss rolls, it wasn’t a dough at all, but a very thin batter that got crispy in the oven very fast. I have no idea what went wrong. I could save about half of the baked something and tried my best at making the rolls. I chose to make raspberry sorbet and mango sorbet for the filling because I wanted the cake to be fruity. You can find the recipes for the sorbets here. The fudge sauce from the given recipe was AWESOME!!!! All in all, the result was very nice and it tasted very good. My two girls asked me to make an ice cream cake for their birthday parties, too. My 4-year old son said, he didn’t want this cake for his party because it was too cold ;o).

Thanks, Sunita, for a very challenging and interesting challenge!

18 responses to “The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 07/10: Swiss Swirl Ice Cream Cake

  1. Happy birthday!!! The cake looks yummy!

  2. My swiss rolls came out really thin as well… But it looks nice anyway. The colors are amazing! I’m sure it was delicious!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Hope you had an amazing day!

  3. Happy Birthday,,, the colours are fantastic.
    http://forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com

  4. Happy Birthday! What a great birthday cake! I love the colors, and those flavors must have tasted absolutely fantastic together. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful work, as always!!

  5. Happy birthday and what a beautiful coloured and flavoured cake you created for it, it looks so pretty and YES lots of DBers used this challenge to make b’day cakes. Lovely to hear that your your two girls wanted it for their parties also. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  6. Happy Birthday! And well done on this Challenge.

  7. Haha, the ice cream cake is too cold — priceless. The vibrant colors of the sorbet are lovely. I had trouble with my Swiss rolls too, but I think you did a very good job of salvaging yours. They’re very round!

  8. This looks great! I love sorbets you made! Very yummy and colorful!!

  9. Happy birthday! I am glad you got to celebrate in yummy style! Your sorbets look so fresh and yummy, I think I am going to have to look into making them myself. Thank you for the inspiration, and thanks for sharing your hard work!!

  10. Happy Birthday! Your bomb looks fantastic! I love the colours! I have put in a link in my post to yours. I hope you don’t mind. I love the sobets and colours of your icecream bomb!

  11. Thanks everyone for the birthday wishes!

  12. I love the flavours you chose! Raspberry and mango sound so delicious and it turned out looking quite beautiful. What a marvelous job you did of it!

  13. Love the contrasting bright colors of your cake! Happy belated birthday!

  14. Lots of birthday wishes. With a gorgeous cake like that, it must have been perfect.
    I made the cake for my daughter’s birthday.

  15. I absoulutely love the colors in ur cake!! hope you had great birthday🙂

  16. I love that you used sorbets for the swiss roll cake. My BF would have preferred sorbets but I was in an ice cream state of mind. Your bombe is stunning, and eye catcher – such perfect, colorful layers!

  17. OH..Happy Belated Birthday!

  18. What gorgeous colours! So vibrant, and the flavours do sound so fruity. Happy birthday and great job on the challenge.

Leave a Reply

