Forging Fromage (2) – Yogurt Cheese and Muhammara

This month’s assignment of the Forging Fromage people is yogurt cheese. I have just started my cheesy adventure, and I have to make quite a few cheeses to catch up, but yogurt cheese is so easy to make that I thought I could just give it a go. I have made Greek-style yogurt before very often, and yogurt cheese is basically the same thing as Greek-style yogurt, the only difference being that you strain it even longer.

I usually make yogurt myself. I add 4 oz of plain yogurt to 1 quart of milk and let my yogurt maker do the job overnight. The next day I strained it to get yogurt cheese. I used the yogurt cheese for making muhammara which is a roasted red bell pepper & walnut dip and served it with homemade Turkish flatbread.

Muhammara

(adapted from “The Middle Eastern Kitchen” by Ghillie Başan)

Serves 4.

Ingredients:

  • 2 red bell peppers, roasted
  • 1 cup coarsely ground walnuts
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tsp flaked Middle Eastern red pepper
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup yogurt cheese
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. Peel and seed the bell peppers and chop to a pulp.
  2. In a food processor, mix peppers, walnuts and garlic to make a textured paste.
  3. Beat in the Middle Eastern red pepper, olive oil, and lemon juice.
  4. Then beat in the yogurt cheese and season it to taste.
  5. Serve with flatbreads to scoop it up.

10 responses to “Forging Fromage (2) – Yogurt Cheese and Muhammara

  1. Pingback: The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Turkish Flatbread « Family & Food & Other Things

  2. Oh, I love those addition to turn it into Muhammara…I want a few rounds of flat bread and a big blop of this!! Great to have you join us at FF…looking forward to future forging😉

  3. Sounds really great.

  4. Thank you four your email. I really like to participate in the beautiful event.

  5. I don’t like bell peppers much (I think I’m the only adult I know who doesn’t…), but your dip looks beautiful!

  6. Yum, what great flavours!

  7. Pingback: Forging Fromage (3) – Fresh Cottage Cheese « Family & Food & Other Things

  8. Pingback: The Modern Baker Challenge: Breads – Pita Bread « Family & Food & Other Things

  9. Pingback: Modern Baker Challenge: Roasted Pepper and Goat Cheese Tart | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

