The Daring Cooks’ Challenges 07/10: Nut Butters

The July 2010 Daring Cooks’ Challenge was hosted by Margie of More Please and Natashya of Living in the Kitchen with Puppies. They chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make their own nut butter from scratch, and use the nut butter in a recipe. Their sources include Better with Nut Butter by Cooking Light Magazine, Asian Noodles by Nina Simonds, and Food Network online. You can find the challenge recipes here.

What a wonderful challenge this has been. Every single recipe I’ve tried was a big hit in our house.

Chicken with Walnut Cream & Mushrooms

The first recipe I made was the Chicken with Pecan Cream & Mushrooms. Instead of pecans I used walnuts, though. The sauce was fantastic.Very creamy and extremely yummy!

Asian Noodle Salad with Pecan Dressing and Chicken

The second recipe was the Asian Noodle Salad with Cashew (or Peanut) Dressing. Instead of cashews or peanuts, I used pecans, and instead of the shrimps I used chicken because I really can’t stand shrimps. I can’t even look at them without shuddering ;o). The picture is not exactly award-winning material, but let me assure you that the dressing is REALLY scrumptious.

Chicken with Curried Tomato Almond Sauce over Basmati Rice

The third recipe was the Chicken with Curried Tomato Almond Sauce. This recipe calls for quite a bit of garam masala seasoning, so I was pretty sure my kids (3 rather picky eaters) would complain about some weird flavor. But a miracle happened. EVERYONE, yes, everyone was cleaning his plate and asked for more! Go figure! This really does not happen very often around here. Again, the picture is really bad, but the dish was awesome!

Thanks, Margie and Natashya, for hosting this challenge!

20 responses to “The Daring Cooks’ Challenges 07/10: Nut Butters

  1. I agree it was a great challenge. I did the tomato almond sauce as well and I thought there was way too much garam seasoning in it. Glad you guys liked it! I’m so inspired to try more nut butters now.

  2. I love that thyme circle around your chicken and walnut cream dish! Great job on the challenge. I had a similar experience with my kids and the curry recipe. I thought they wouldn’t like the bold curry flavor, but they gave it a thumbs up.

  3. Looks amazing! well done on your challenge

  4. Wow, all three and they all look delicious!! Great post, too.

  5. I know exactly what you mean this was a fabulous challenge ALL the recipes were yummy great to hear that the curry went down so well. I think your photos are cute also. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  6. All three of your dishes sound fantastic!! And that is awesome that your kids liked the curry dish so much – it’s always surprising what they like and what they don’t, isn’t it?? I loved this challenge, too. You did an awesome job with it!!

  7. Great job on your challenge. All 3 dishes sound delicious. I particularly like the chicken curry tomato .. very unique.

  8. Love the chicken curry! And am so jealous that your kids would eat it.

  9. The chicken with the walnut cream and mushrooms looks soooo good! I think that is next on my list of these recipes to make😀

  10. Awesome job on the challenge – everything looks wonderful!

  11. Great job! They all look excellent!

  12. Beautiful work on this challenge! I love that you went for it and tried so many different options! I am also encouraged to hear what your kids enjoyed… Here’s hoping they learn to give more things a shot, too!!

  13. All three of these recipes sound great! And I am totally impressed that you got everyone to ask for more – that’s a really challenging task at our house, too! Way to go! =)

  14. Wonderful job on this “nutty” challenge=;) I’m jealous you were able to make 3.. i so want to try the curried tomato almond sauce.

  15. Everything looks delicious! Glad your kids liked it…good job!

  16. I love your adaptations! And I’m really glad your family ate these dishes. My beasty would only eat the curry one, and none of the other dishes I made!

    I’m super impressed with your thyme ring, too; if Margie hadn’t mentioned it in her comment, I would have continued to think it was part of the plate! I thought it was the china design.. heh..😉

  17. Scrumptious is the perfect description for the Asian dressing! I had forgotten about that word. You’ve convinced me that I must try the Almond Currey sauce recipe soon.

  18. Beautiful job on all of your nutty dishes and the photos look great…mouth watering!

  19. We didn’t know what to expect from the Curry Dish and at least one of us was very nervous, especially having no idea what garam masala is. But like your kids, we loved it and will make a version of this dish again, probably sooner rather than later.

    Well done!

    Stay JOLLY!
    D

  20. I like the chicken curry

Leave a Reply

