Bread Baking Buddies June 2010: Korni & BBD #31: Breads with Nuts

I’m submitting this bread to 2 events:

  1. the Bread Baking Buddies: Lien was the kitchen of the month and came up with this recipe.
  2. Bread Baking Day #31, the theme of which is “Breads with Nuts”, hosted by BBD founder Zorra herself.

I had intended to bake a different bread for BBD #31, but I had MAJOR time issues this month, so I had to pimp up the BBB bread a little bit (aka add some nuts) so it would qualify for BBD also. The changes I made to Lien’s recipe are:

  • I didn’t roast soy beans but bought already roasted soy beans (I had started the whole soy bean procedure, i.e. I soaked them, but getting the thin skin off of like a zillion tiny beans was too much for me time-wise – I stopped after I was done with about 1/4 of the amount: and that took me like 25 minutes!!!).
  • I cut the soy bean amount in half and added about 1 cup of chopped walnuts (so it would qualify for the BBD).
  • I didn’t add caraway because I HATE careaway.
  • I didn’t make one huge round loaf, but divided the dough in half and put it in two loaf pans because the dough was way too wet for free form loaves.
  • I didn’t glaze the loafs with an egg and milk mixture.

Verdict:

This is a fantastic bread. Lots of grains, really crunchy and very YUMMY!!!! I’ll make this bread again soon, but will experiment with the shape a little bit.

Here’s my adapted recipe:

Poolish

  • 1 1/2 tsp  active dry yeast
  • 2 1/4 cups warm water
  • 1 cup rye flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Dough

  • 1 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • All of the starter from the previous step
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup millet
  • 1/2 cup roasted soy beans
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Prepare the sponge/poolish:

  1. First proof the yeast, in a large bowl, in 1 cup of the warm water. When it is creamy, mix in 1 1/4 cups warm water and slowly add the rye flour, whole wheat flour, and 1½ cups of AP flour by handfuls while stirring the mixture with a wooden spoon.
  2. Set the batter aside, in a large bowl, covered with a dish towel, for between 8 and 10 hours or overnight.

Make the dough:

  1. Proof the yeast in the warm water, add it to the risen sponge, and mix the two together. Start adding the flour, handful by handful, stirring vigorously with a wooden spoon. After all but 1 cup of the flour has been added (this will take about 10 minutes), turn the dough out onto your worktable, sprinkle the salt over the dough, and incorporate it by kneading the dough for about 5 minutes while adding the last of the flour. The dough should be very moist.
  2. Add the flax seeds, millet, roasted soy beans and walnuts and knead the dough to incorporate them.
  3. Set the dough aside, covered, to rise for 1 hour, until it has doubled in size.
  4. Flatten out the dough again, divide it in 2 halves and shape them into 2 loaves. Place loaves in loaf pan, cover and let rise for about 1 1/2 hours.
  5. Bake them in a preheated 425°F oven for 35 minutes.


Print

Add to TwitterAdd to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

7 responses to “Bread Baking Buddies June 2010: Korni & BBD #31: Breads with Nuts

  1. Sounds great this addition of walnuts. I think this recipe is very adaptable. Wonderful loaf!
    Thanks so much for baking with us.

  2. I love this!!
    I can well understand the nuts would be wonderful in this bread. I’ll try to remember to add some next time I bake this.
    I used soy nuts and didn’t worry about all those skins, the bread is fine with them just adds a little more fiber.
    Two loaves in my house is always better than one huge!
    I baked it with and without the egg wash, it’s really much prettier with it but taste just fine without.
    Delighted you could bake with us!

  3. Thnks for baking with us (eh the rest of us Babes that is. I’m still looking for my mojo). I like the addition of nuts here as well!

  4. I love the addition of walnuts. This bread really lent itself to creative subs.
    Thanks so much for baking with us!

  5. LOL, I did nuts too, though for a different reason. This is the second time I’ve qualified for BBD without knowing! Glad you liked your changes, looks great!

  6. If your short on time you need to be creative. Well done and thank you for participating in BBD #31.

  7. The bread looks very tasty and after reading the ingredients of course I will be trying it!
    Great participation in BBD 31!

Leave a Reply

