The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 06/10: Chocolate Pavlova with Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse

The June 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Dawn of Doable and Delicious. Dawn challenged the Daring Bakers’ to make Chocolate Pavlovas and Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse. The challenge recipe is based on a recipe from the book “Chocolate Epiphany” by Francois Payard. I had so many plans for this challenge again: something with white chocolate, something with lots of fruit, a vegan pavlova with vegan chocolate mousse for my daughter’s birthday party at her daycare center (one of the boys in her group is highly allergic to virtually anything edible, even soy), but again, I ran out of time and made something more simple, though not less beautiful, for the party: an (almost) vegan butterfly cake. So it was only yesterday that I started to make the challenge recipe which you can find here.

I was lucky, though, that everything went smoothly. The chocolate meringues were really yummy as was the chocolate mascarpone mousse. I have to admit, though, that the combination of both was a little too heavy on the chocolate side. I’m a chocoholic, so it must be really chocolaty for me to say that. Also, for my tastebuds there was too much cream in the recipes. I added some raspberries to the dessert so it got a little fruity note which was really good with all that chocolate. I did like it, but probably won’t make the whole assembly again. I’ll definitely save the chocolate meringue recipe for future use, though. SO delicious!

Thanks, Dawn, for a really nice challenge!

18 responses to “The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 06/10: Chocolate Pavlova with Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse

  1. Love your presentation.

    I agree, I found the dessert rather heavy as well. I’m sure the raspberries would have helped to balance it out.

  2. Looks delicious! Great job on the challenge!!

  3. Love the chocolate and raspberries! Great job on the challenge!

  4. Lovely presentation you pav looks so perfect wonderful on this challenge. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  5. Looks wonderful! Beautiful job!

  6. I love your sugared raspberries, they are so cute and delicious

    • Actually, the raspberries are not sugared. They came right from the freezer and I was in a little hurry and didn’t have time to let them thaw before taking the picture.

  7. Good looking pav and very prettily presented.🙂

  8. what a great presentation of the pavlova….thanks for sharing

  9. Beautifully done for this challenge… yummy.

  10. It’s so pretty! I love the mousse dot and raspberry circle.

  11. the raspberry n chocolate circle look like tribals dancing round the food they’re gonna eat…🙂

    the dessert looks amazing ….

    cheers,
    The Variable, Crazy Over Desserts – Nachiketa
    Catch me on facebook @ Crazy Over Desserts

  12. squeaky mouse

    cute presentation!

  13. I too had such GRAND plans for the challenge, and I just didn’t get to it.

    *sigh*

    I definitely found the fresh berries I used and the little bit of whipped cream (I skipped the cream anglaise part) helped cut the chocolate.

    Your presentation looks fantastic though! The frozen raspberries actually do look sugared, and give the dessert a sophisticated air!

    Now how do you make vegan pavlova? Do you use Versawhip or Methylcellulose or some other “molecular gastronomy” ingredient? Just curious. I was obsessed with making vegan meringue for a little bit, but never got around to following through with any of my ideas.

    • Nope, no weird ingredients at all for the vegan meringue. I found this recipe, but haven’t gotten to it yet.

      Vegan Meringue

      Ingredients:
      – 400 g/ 14,1 oz/ 2,5 cups tapioca starch – divided
      – 75 g/ 2,65 oz/ 0,5 cup glutinous rice flour
      – 120 g/ 4,23 oz/ 0,5 cup sugar
      – 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
      – 150 g/ 5,3 oz thick coconut milk or coconut cream

      Directions:
      1. All ingredients should be really cold (store in the refrigerator overnight).
      2. Mix half of the tapioca starch with the rice flour, sugar and baking powder.
      3. Add coconut milk and stir.
      4. Knead well and let rest for 30 minutes.
      5. Add remaining tapioca starch and knead well. The dough should have the consistency of shortcrust. You won’t be able to pipe it, but you could use cookie cutters to make the pavlova bases.
      6. Bake in preheated oven at 150°C/ 300°F for about 15-20 minutes.

  14. Your pavlova turned out beautiful..great photo too! I would love to see how a vegan version turns out. Might just try it myself..thank you for posting the recipe🙂

  15. Lovely pavlova! Great job!

  16. Heavy it certainly was, and yours are beautiful! Love your take on the challenge! Intrigued by the vegan version!

Leave a Reply

