Birthday Cakes Part 7: Monkey and (Almost Vegan) Butterfly

So, a couple of days ago my youngest one turned 3. I can’t believe how time flies – it seems like yesterday that I held her in my arms or pushed the stroller so she could fall asleep, and now she is THREE! I can’t believe it. It makes me feel kind of old that I have 3 kids of whom the youngest one is 3 already. Anyway, little Missy asked me for a nice surprise birthday cake and thanks to Sara of “Three Clever Sisters” I had the perfect base to start from: 61 Incredible Birthday Cake Ideas. I decided to go for the Monkey Cake for her actual birthday party at home and the Butterfly Cake for her birthday party at the daycare facility.

Print

Monkey Cake

(adapted from Parenting.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (9-inch) round cake (I used my beloved devil’s food recipe)
  • 2 chocolate-covered doughnuts
  • ½ can (1 cup) vanilla frosting
  • Red food coloring
  • 1 can (16 oz) chocolate frosting
  • ½ cup chocolate sprinkles
  • 2 brown M&M’s or black jelly beans
  • 2 miniature York peppermint patties
  • 1 chocolate Twizzler

Follow the instructions given here.

(Almost Vegan) Butterfly Cake

(adapted from Parenting.com)

This one was a little tricky. In my daughter’s daycare group there is a little boy who is allergic to a lot of things. And I mean, A LOT. This includes dairy, eggs, raw fruit and vegetables, soy, nuts… So I thought I would just make a vegan cake, but this poor little boy mustn’t even eat soy products which vegans are so fond of. I was lucky, though, because there is a folder at the daycare facility with recipes that boy is allowed to eat, and among the recipes there was one for a sponge cake. So the cake you see above is mostly vegan (if you don’t count the decoration – that’s why part of the left lower wing is without decoration so it would be easy to cut a piece out of the cake for that aforementioned boy). I spread a mixture of powdered sugar and lime juice over the baked cake and decorated it with various edible stuff.

Ingredients:

  • 8,1 oz AP flour
  • 1/2 oz baking powder
  • 6 tblsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 cup + 1 tblsp water

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients and pour batter into a greased 10-inch springform.
  2. Bake at 350°F for 30 minutes.
  3. Then follow the directions given here.

Needless to say that my daughter loved both her cakes very much ;-)!

10 responses to “Birthday Cakes Part 7: Monkey and (Almost Vegan) Butterfly

  1. How sweet and beautiful

  2. They are just so cute. Hope the children loved them too.

  3. Awww! These are awesome! I can’t believe how quickly the time flies. I was shocked when my little girl turned 3 in April. How does this happen???

    Happy birthday little Missy!!!!

  4. Great works of art both those cakes. Isn’t it wonderful to have cameras that can just record these things so easily? Happy Birthday to you all and many more x Jo

  5. You are so creative! These cakes look awesome! Isn’t it amazing how quickly these birthdays pop up?! Hope she had a great one! =)

  6. I love both cakes! My younger daughter (going on 4) absolutely loves monkeys. Not sure where that came from. I showed her the picture, and she thought it was fantastic. =)

  7. So cute! It was super sweet of you to bake something he could eat! I’ve heard of a lot of allergies (and have baked for a lot of food allergic friends before) but I’ve never heard of some being allergic to raw fruits and vegetables! The poor boy must be nutrient deficient! He probably has to take vitamins and such…

    • Oh, the allergies to raw fruit and vegetable are not that uncommon – these are usually cross sensitivities. Like, when you’re allergic to birch tree pollen, you are very likely allergic to raw apples, carrots, peaches, cherries, potatoes, tomatoes… Same goes for other pollen… I, for instance, can’t eat raw carrots or cherries. Or I have trouble peeling raw potatoes because my skin reacts…

  8. Oh my gosh…these are both incredibly adorable!! What fun for the kiddos…that monkey is tooooo fun =)

  9. Those are amazing!

Leave a Reply

