The Daring Cooks’ Challenges 06/10: Pâtés and Bread

Our hostesses this month, Evelyne of Cheap Ethnic Eatz, and Valérie of a The Chocolate Bunny, chose delicious pâté with freshly baked bread as their June Daring Cook’s challenge! They’ve provided us with 4 different pâté recipes to choose from and are allowing us to go wild with our homemade bread choice. You can find the challenge recipes here.

I really do not mind stepping out of my comfort zone, but this month I chickened out. 2 of the recipes were liver pâtés, something NOBODY here would ever eat or even try. The seafood recipe has shrimps, which I can’t even look at without shuddering, and the vegetarian recipe has a giant bean layer. It has been really hot here the last couple days, and beans are something I associate with cold weather. Beans are comfort food, food you eat to keep you warm. Not at all appropriate for this weather. So I decided to deviate from the given recipes. I made 3 different recipes: a frozen mango raspberry terrine with mango bread, a 5-color vegetable terrine with ciabatta and a cauliflower, potato and smoked salmon pâté in puff pastry. I’ve never made a terrine or pâté before, so this was a real challenge. But I enjoyed it very much and will try more recipes soon.

Frozen Mango Raspberry Terrine with Mango Bread

First, I made a Frozen Mango Raspberry Terrine (pdf version of the recipe here) and Mango Bread (pdf version of the recipe here). The terrine was extremely time-consuming because I had to make mango sorbet, raspberry sorbet and mango ice cream, which took me 3 days. Assembling everything took me another day. The mango bread, on the other hand, was pretty easy. The frozen terrine and the bread were soooo scrumptious. I’ll be making this frozen terrine often from now on!

5-Color Vegetable Terrine with Ciabatta

The next terrine on my lineup was a vegetable terrine. You can find a pdf version of the recipe here. It consists of 5 layers: carrots, cauliflower, peas, roasted pepper, and parmesan cheese. It is lined in savoy cabbage. The original recipe calls for beet greens or ruby swiss chard, but I couldn’t find any, so I blanched some savoy cabbage leaves which worked just fine. What a culinary highlight! Visually and taste-wise VERY appealing. I made some ciabatta to go with the terrine and used the biga version recipe from Peter Reinhart’s “The Bread Baker’s Apprentice”. I had made the poolish version before and was disappointed about the lack of big holes – the holes were lacking in the biga version, too, but the flavor was really good!

Cauliflower, Potato & Smoked Salmon Pâté

My third attempt was a cauliflower, potato & smoked salmon pâté lined in puff pastry (pdf version of the recipe here). Basically, you cook some cauliflower and potatoes, discard the water, purée both, add some eggs, cream, smoked salmon (cut in thin strips), line a loaf pan with puff pastry, pour in the farce, cover it with puff pastry and bake it in a water bath. I have no idea why my pâté wouldn’t set, so visually it was more like baby food. But the flavor was awesome!

Anyway, this again was a very interesting challenge. And even though I didn’t step out of my comfort zone and didn’t use one of the given recipes, I still made something I’ve never made before and I really enjoyed it. So, thanks Evelyne and Valérie.

26 responses to “The Daring Cooks’ Challenges 06/10: Pâtés and Bread

  1. Wow your pates are gorgeous! Love all the colors and the bread looks great too!

  2. Oh wow, gorgeous and delicious. Every single one looks so good. And the bread looks fantastic too!

  3. I cannot compliment you enough on how amazing your dessert pate looks! Lovely job.

  4. squeaky mouse

    i’m loving your fruity pate, so colourful and yummy looking!

  5. You really went above and beyond with these beautiful terrines! I love the bright colors of the mango & berry one!

  6. Wow. All three are so impressive and show such thought and creativity. You totally had be at “mango,” too. Mango and raspberry sounds absolutely delicious, and a frozen terrine sounds like an amazing treat. You went so above and beyond on this one – fantastic!!

  7. You had me at frozen mango and raspberry terrine and mango bread. Terrific combo and so beautiful!

  8. Oh my!! The dessert pate and the puff pastry pate are my favorites here. Wow. Those look so good! I hope you have enough time soon to post those recipes because I would love to try them out! Great job on this challenge!

  9. I am all over that Frozen Mango Raspberry Terrine and Mango Bread!! It looks so amazing! Definitely something I would like to try sometime.

  10. Amazing job! I love how you adapted the challenge to suit your preferences. The frozen terrine looks so beautiful! Congrats on a great challenge!

  11. You know Alaskans eat more ice cream per/capita than any other state. It is cold and rainy here but suddenly I am having a serious craving for your frozen mango terrine.

    You showed a great amount of creativity navigating your way around the liver options.

  12. I love that you made a sweet version. I could definitely eat some of that right now! I’m so impressed with all your efforts – especially since none of the original recipes appealed. Very creative and beautifully realised!

  13. I love your three pates! That frozen terrine looks sinfully delicious! And I love the five layers of vegetable pate… how awesome! GREAT job on this challenge! Thank you for sharing!

  14. Bothe the pate look amazing!!

  15. Yours are the most creative pates I have seen. Great job!

  16. WOW such beautiful and elegant looking pâtés I really love the 5 coloured one! And the mango bread sounds so good. Your photographs are so bright and colourful. Excellent work on this challenge.

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  17. Love your mango-raspberry terrine!

  18. Thanks to everyone for your kind comments ;o))))

  19. That five-colour pate sounds incredible, as does the smoked salmon en croute!

    And the mango terrine is *beautiful*.

  20. Wow very impressed by your recipes, especially the sweet one, Very few tried that. great job. Thanks for participating in our challenge.

  21. Glad you found some pate recipes you could love! The 5-layer vegetarian one sounds fantastic!

  22. Wow! Three pates! I love all the colors in the pates, especially the mango one. I chickened out a bit too and just did the veggie pate.

  23. Thank you, thank you for posting the recipes! I’m definitely still interested! And thank you for jumping over to let me know they are here!

  24. When I saw your photo in the Daring Kitchen forum, I was blown away! I love that you went both sweet and savory,even matching the breads sweet and savory. The colors and flavors are stunning, as are the perfect layers! BRAVO on such delicious flavors too! Must try the cauliflower, smoked salmon poatao pate! Oh, also love how you turned tricolor into’ five’ color with more yumminess!

  25. Pingback: Food Tag | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

