Mellow Bakers June 2010: Vermont Sourdough

I wasn’t mellow at all with this bread – as soon as the Mellow Bakers breads for June were announced I prepared everything for making the Vermont Sourdough – it wasn’t even June yet ;o).  This post is going to be kind of mellow, though. Too many things are going on here right now, so I have to cut this a little short.

The risen loaves turned out kind of flat, but did have some oven spring. To my mind, the crust was a little too thick. Did I spray too much or not enough? No matter what, this bread is a nice bread with a distinct sourdough flavor and even though the kids had been complaining about other sour breads I had made, they did love this one!

5 responses to “Mellow Bakers June 2010: Vermont Sourdough

  1. Looks tasty. I wish that I had some in the house.

  2. Gorgeous! Love the thought of you rushing to make this one.

  3. So glad to “see” you again . . . I’ve been missing your posts! =) Your bread looks wonderful, and I’m so glad the kids liked it . . . my oldest barely eats anything I bake, complaining they’re too sour, so my fingers are crossed that maybe he’ll like this one!

  4. :ooks tasty and sourdough is one of my favorite breads.

  5. It looks delicious! Great job!!

Leave a Reply

