Dandelion Honey

Dandelion Honey

A couple of days ago Tigress – the founder of Tigress’ Can Jam – published the roundup for April which had herbs as a focus. Of course, I’ve read almost all of the entries and really got excited when I read Julia’s post about dandelion honey. She had intended to make dandelion jelly, but by accident made honey. What a cool idea, I thought. I had never heard of dandelion honey before. I immediately knew I wanted to make it, too, because we have quite a lot of dandelions in our backyard right now.

I looked for a dandelion honey recipe on the internet because I wasn’t sure I could replicate Julia’s “accident”, and I found one here. So I went to the backyard, picked a lot of dandelion flowers and went back to the kitchen.

The next step was time-consuming and annoying: taking the petals from the flowers. You should make sure no green stuff is left, otherwise it might become bitter. This was my yield:

I covered the petals with water, let them sit for 2 hours, brought them to a boil and let them cool again. Then an overnight rest followed and the next day I strained the dandelion “juice”. I added sugar, lemon juice and lemon peel to the juice, brought everything to a boil, reduced the heat to medium-low and let it simmer for about 2 1/2 hours, stirring every now and then, until it reached the desired consistency (you can put some of the syrup on a very cold plate to check the set). Finally, I poured the honey into jars.

dandelion honey dandelion honey

This is a very yummy spread – my kids adore it (1 jar is already gone)! Too bad the yield isn’t that big – about  three 1/4 pint jars. But the honey is totally worth the effort – when we have enough dandelions in our backyard again, I’ll make the next batch!

Dandelion Honey

(adapted from Heilkräuter)

Ingredients:

  • 3 handful dandelion flowers
  • 1 quart water
  • 2 lb sugar
  • juice and grated peel of 1 lemon

Directions

  1. Take the petals from the flowers, put them in a pot and cover them with 1 quart of water.
  2. Cover and let sit for 2 hours.
  3. Bring to a boil, turn off the heat, let cool and let sit overnight.
  4. Filter the flower juice (coffee filters or a sieve lined with cheesecloth work fine).
  5. Add sugar, lemon juice and grated lemon peel.
  6. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce the heat and let simmer for  about 2 1/2 hours until it reaches the desired consistency when put on a very cold plate.
  7. Pour into jars.

13 responses to “Dandelion Honey

  1. You have really piqued my interest with this recipe! Bookmarking it right now…waiting for a patch of dandelions ~

  2. Oh my! I hadn’t had time to look at all the entries in the can jam. I’m going to try this one and take a look at the other ones. Thanks for sharing!

  3. This is so cool. Imagne people pay to get rid of those pesky plants and you make honey. Bavo!
    I live in Manhattan and I would be afraid to pick the one out in the street.

    • Yes, I wouldn’t pick the ones in the street either even though I then would have enough to make honey for the next 2 years, I think. But I’m just too worried about the exhaust emissions and the dogs’ and cats’ wee… So I’ll stick to the one in my backyard because I know there are no herbicides on my lawn! My pet guinea pigs will suffer, though, because they LOVE to eat dandelion flowers.

    • Also, I know that many people try to get rid of them, but I’ve always left them there (except for the ones I fed to my guinea pigs) because I like the more natural kind of backyard

  4. I am so excited! We have so many dandelions in the yard . . . how fun to have a good use for them!! You are so clever! =)

  5. Andrea, this is just lovely! So glad you were inspired, and it’s so cool that you found a working recipe! I never even thought to look! We’ve been totally enjoying it on toast and in tea, and my baby boy wants the whole jar, naturally!

  6. I saw a mark bittman article once mentioning dandelion petal muffins–or maybe it was a tweet? I think there used to be a dandelion wine people made–so there’s lots you could do! I don’t think I have the patience; on the other hand I bet your kids enjoy helping you harvest!!!

    • In his HTCE Vegetarian, he also has a recipe for dandelion greens. So I can use the whole plant – yay! I’ll go recipe hunting for the dandelion petal muffins – that sounds divine!

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Dandelion Honey « Family & Food & Other Things -- Topsy.com

  8. Pingback: Mellow Bakers May 2010: (2) Corn Bread « Family & Food & Other Things

  9. umm… isn’t 2lb too much sugar?? It seems like a lot

Leave a Reply

