Bread Baking Buddies April 2010: Potato Bread with Chives

Sara of “I like to cook” was the BBB Kitchen of the Month in April, and she asked us to bake a vegan spring bread: potato bread with chives. I have lots of chives in my backyard because I adore them. So I was more than happy to bake a bread with chives in it.

I thought, though, that 2 tblsp of chives would not be enough for 2 loaves. So I added about 1 cup. I should have added even more because I couldn’t really detect the flavor of the chives. But other than that, the bread was fine. Nothing spectacular, so I doubt I’ll make it again… This recipe makes 2 huge loaves, so if you don’t want to give 1 loaf away or don’t have room in the freezer, you should cut the recipe in half.

Potato Bread with Chives

(adapted from Vegan Planet by Robin Robertson)

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water, divided
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 tblsp corn oil
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup cold mashed potatos
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 5 cups unbleached all purpose flour, plus more for kneading
  • 2 tblsp minced fresh chives (I took 1 cup)

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, combine the yeast and 1/4 cup of the water. Add the sugar and stir to dissolve. Let the mixture stand for 10 minutes, then stir in the remaining 3/4 cup of water, the corn oil and the salt. Mix in the potatos, then stir in the soy milk. Add about half the flour, stirring to combine, then work in the remaining flour to form a stiff dough. Transfer to a lightly floured board.
  2. Lightly flour your hands and work surface. Knead the dough well until it is smooth and elastic, 8 to 10 minutes, using more flour as necessary so the dough does not stick. Place in a large lightly oiled bowl and turn over once to coat with oil. Cover with a lightly oiled piece of plastic wrap. Let rise in a warm place until doubled in bulk, 1 to 2 hours.
  3. Meanwhile, lightly oil a large baking sheet and set aside. Punch the dough down and knead lightly. Turn out onto a lightly floured work surface, sprinkle with the chives, and knead until the dough is elastic and the chives are well distributed, 3 to 5 minutes. Shape the dough into two oval loaves and place on the prepared baking sheet. Cover with a lightly oiled plastic wrap. Set aside in a warm place and let rise again until doubled in bulk, about 45 minutes.
  4. Preheat the oven to 400°F. Score the loaves. Bake on the center oven rack until golden brown, 35 to 45 minutes, depending on size. Tap on the bottom of the loaf or loaves – if they sound hollow, the bread is done. Remove from the sheet and let cool slightly on a wire rack before slicing.

12 responses to “Bread Baking Buddies April 2010: Potato Bread with Chives

  1. That looks beautiful!
    Thanks for baking with us!

  2. Looks like you made yourself a very nice sandwich loaf, that soft crust is inviting salad and crunchies!

  3. I agree unfortunately that the chives did not stand out as much as expected. Thanks for baking with us!

  4. Sorry to hear your chives didnt leave any taste in the bread. Mine did well, but they were hardly out of the earth…very young and strong, maybe.
    Anyway thanks for baking with us, Buddie Babe.

  5. Great bread!!! And Yay for more chives (it neede that you’re totally right!). Nice to have found your blog through the mellow bakers. THanks for baking with us.

  6. Nice! Next time I’m using more chives too. More chives = more better (okay, I just totally butchered the English language…)

  7. My girls nibble on the chives in the backyard every time they go by, but I did have enough for a half recipe. I love that you can see the little bits of chive in your loaf.

  8. Lovely bread, and wow, the foresight you had to use so much more of the chives definitely paid off. I’ve been browsing your other posts and am in awe of what wonderful bakes you had created. I will be back for some of the recipes. I’m looking forward to baking with you again.

  9. Love the top of y9ur bread…those creases are lovely. It’s true that the chive flavor almost disappears but my hubby really liked this bread so I was glad we had another loaf🙂

  10. My chives are growing gangbusters– what a great way to use them!!!

  11. Good call on adding extra chives – I did the same. Great loaf!
    Thanks so much for baking with us this month.

  12. Ooh wow this looks so yummy heheh🙂. Num num.

Leave a Reply

