BBD #29: Bread in Pots – Onion & Herb Bread

Cathy of BreadExperience is the host of this month’s Bread Baking Day (BBD). She chose to have us bake “Breads in Pots” to celebrate spring.

She was pretty generous about what kind of pot to use:

“Any kind of pot will do: flower pots, ceramic pots/bakers, clay pots, baking tins, casserole dishes, Dutch ovens, etc. “

My first thought was to bake something in my casserole dish, but then I was doing some gardening the other day and found two really nice and almost new terracotta flower pots in my storage shed and thought they were perfect. I scrubbed them to get them really clean and carried them into my kitchen. And there they sat on my counter for quite a while and reminded me of the submission deadline. But I was so busy with some other projects (Daring Bakers, Mellow Bakers & Modern Baker Challenge – check my sidebar to see what I made this month, sewing…), that I just didn’t get around to baking the BBD bread or even looking for a recipe.

Finally, yesterday I went recipe hunting and came up with this interesting recipe. The process of making this bread was pretty easy. I adjusted the recipe to my tastebuds in that I didn’t use fennel seeds, aniseed or dill, upped the amount of dried rosemary and nutmeg and put rosemary sprigs on top of the bread. I also didn’t grease the pots because I lined them with baking paper – I didn’t want my dough to touch the pots; these had been flower pots after all. The recipe didn’t mention soaking the pots in water while preparing the dough, but I had read on a couple of other sites, that soaking was necessary to prevent the pots from breaking in the hot oven, so I thought it wouldn’t do any harm if I soaked them.

The smell from the oven was awesome and the 2 breads looked really cute. I kept the bigger one for our dinner tonight, and gave the smaller one away. This is a very yummy, moist bread with a complex flavor of onions, garlic, rosemary and nutmeg. I’ll definitely make it again. And what is almost most important: this bread makes a really nice present because it looks so neat in the flower pot.

Thanks, Cathy, for hosting this month’s BBD and coming up with a really nice theme!

Onion & Herb Bread in a Pot

Ingredients:

  • 17,6 oz AP flour
  • 1,4 oz fresh yeast (or 0,35 oz active dry yeast)
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • a little over a cup milk, lukewarm
  • 100 g onions, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, diced
  • 1,76 oz butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp dried rosemary

Directions:

  1. Soak terracotta pots in water.
  2. Dissolve yeast in milk.
  3. Add flour and sugar. Knead, cover and let rise for 30 minutes.
  4. Add all the other ingredients and knead well. Cover and let rise for 15 minutes.
  5. Line terracotta pots with parchment paper, scrape dough into prepared pots, cover and let rise for 20 minutes.
  6. Preheat oven to 430°F.
  7. Bake for 35 minutes, turn off the oven and leave breads in the oven for another 30 minutes.

10 responses to “BBD #29: Bread in Pots – Onion & Herb Bread

  1. That would be a great idea for an edible party favor! I’ll keep that in mind. Your bread looks great!

  2. This is so funny: I had just spent some time online looking into baking in plant pots. There are some sites that say its not a good idea unless they are certified food grade as there could be lead in the pots. Maybe its not a reasonable worry, especially since you line the pots w/ parchment paper… ?

  3. Andrea, your flower pots loaves look delicious! Thanks for submitting them to bread baking day.

    Happy Baking!
    Cathy

  4. Adorable! What a great gift idea!!

  5. Wow these look simply amazing.

  6. Wow, these are gorgeous!! I didn’t bake in a flowerpot because of the lead thing but didn’t think of covering them with parchment paper, what a great idea!

  7. These look gorgeous and sound delicious. Beautiful!

  8. Waw!! That’s a lovely method to bake breads in!! Yummm,…they look so tasty & special too!

    I so love this method!

    MMMMMMM,….!!!!

  9. They look so gorgeous!!, I should try this out some time!!

Leave a Reply

