The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Spicy Jalapeño Cornbread

After my BBA cornbread disaster (it was by far the worst bread of all) I was pretty sure I would never ever make cornbread again. But then I read Anne Marie’s post and Phyl’s post about the Spicy Jalapeño Cornbread from “The Modern Baker” by Nick Malgieri, and since this is the Modern Baker Challenge after all, I decided to give it a go. So here I am, writing about the Spicy Jalapeño Cornbread.

The recipe called for 4 jalapeño chiles. We don’t have those here, we can buy peperoncini instead. Unfortunately, I didn’t check their Scoville rating before I went shopping. I didn’t want the bread to be too hot for my kids, so I decided to buy only 2 peperoncini. Hmm, had I learned about their Scoville rating before I would have known that they range between 100-500, whereas jalapeño chiles range between 2500-8000. Okayyyyyy…

The whole process was pretty easy and quick, as you would expect for a quick bread. Sauté the chiles and scallions, combine cornmeal (is cornmeal the same as corn flour???? I took 1/4 polenta and 3/4 corn flour), flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Whisk eggs, whisk in cream (or buttermilk, or milk – I took milk), butter, cooked chiles and scallions and the cilantro (that was another mishap: I meant to look up cilantro in the dictionary before shopping, but then I forgot it and didn’t know what to get; back at home I checked it and of course, I didn’t have fresh cilantro, but I substituted dried cilantro for it which I had at hand). The dry ingredients are then added to the egg mixture. Everything goes into the prepared pan (I took my 10,2″ springform) and gets baked for about 30 minutes at 375°F.

The result was a very yummy, fluffy bread! Not at all gummy like the BBA cornbread. And not hot at all for the kids, even though I would have liked it a little hotter. So I might add 4 or 5 pepperoncini the next time and see if that is still acceptable for the kids. The taste of the scallions in the cornbread was very interesting and pleasing! This is a keeper!

Other bakers who tackled this bread

5 responses to “The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads – Spicy Jalapeño Cornbread

  1. I’m glad that you made it. Can you get poblano peppers? I think that they would work. Corn flour is a finer grind of corn meal.

    I thought that the taste of the fresh cilantro was very interesting.

    I wonder if this is the recipe for everyone who disliked the BBA cornbread?

    • Nope, no poblano peppers here either… There are some online sources where I can get some DRIED chile peppers – I might try the cornbread with a rather mild kind (but hotter than peperoncini) then…

  2. Oh, this looks good…and very pretty with all that yellow and green…like springtime! I didn’t care for the BBA cornbread either, way too greasy, so I was vowing to stick with Jiffy Mix (don’t laugh) for cornbread needs. Now that I see yours, I am eager to give it a try. Lovely job on this.

  3. Our local Kaufland and Edeka often have spicy Thai peppers which could be used. Cilantro would be Koriander (Coriander). I love the taste of it and it’s a must in the mexican kitchen which we love. I am thankful for our commissary mainly for cilantro. They get it from a company in Bornheim (www.Dreesen.de) . Maybe you have a shop around who uses some of their herbs and they could put in special order from time to time. Your bread looks just like mine. I must say I really enjoyed this bread a lot

  4. Great idea to use a springform pan! I’m doing that next time!!

Leave a Reply

