Can Jam #4: “Herbs” – Lavender Wine Jelly

Tigress’ Can Jam is a challenge that focuses on a fruit or vegetable each month, and all the participants have to come up with interesting recipes. This month’s focus is: herbs. My first thought was: it’s possible to can herbs???? Then I flipped through the “Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving” and stumbled upon the Herbes de Provence Wine Jelly. But it was not this recipe that caught my eye, but the variation mentioned on the bottom of the page: Lavender Wine Jelly.

I was thrilled! I still have my lavender from last year (yes, I grow lavender in my backyard – see the picture above which I took last summer – isn’t it absolutely beautiful?). Anyway, I harvested it last fall and dried it, but never used it because I didn’t really know what to do with it. So it sat in the garage and waited to be put to good use.

The recipe calls for a dry white wine, and we had that from last summer, too. No, I’m not a vintner, but last summer we went to Austria for 2 weeks and our landlords there were vintners. Of course we bought some of their wine before we left. The wine I used for the lavender wine jelly was a “Weißburgunder” (Pinot Blanc).

This jelly is delicious! I still have much lavender left in the garage, so I know now what I can use it for because the recipe made only 2 8-ounce jars. Just have to buy some more wine.

Without furter ado, here’s my adapted recipe.

Lavender Wine Jelly

(adapted from “Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving”)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups dry white wine
  • 1 tblsp dried lavender flowers
  • 1 cup raw cane sugar (the original recipe calls for 2 cups granulated sugar)
  • 1 tsp locust bean gum (the original recipe calls for 3 oz liquid pectin)

Directions:

  1. In a pan, combine wine and lavender flowers. Bring to a boil over high heat, remove from heat, cover and let steep for 20 minutes.
  2. Transfer to a dampened jelly bag set over a deep bowl. Let drip, undisturbed for 20 minutes. Measure 1 3/4 cups infused wine.
  3. Transfer infused wine to a large pot. Stir in sugar. Over high heat, stirring constantly, bring mixture to a full boil that cannot be stirred down. Stir in locust bean gum. Boil hard, stirring constantly for 2 minutes. Remove from heat.
  4. Quickly pour jelly into prepared hot jars, close the jars  and process for 10 minutes (I used my electric waterbath canner and processed them for 10 minutes at 90°C).

Check out some fellow canners’ carrot posts here:

21 responses to “Can Jam #4: “Herbs” – Lavender Wine Jelly

  1. I want some…..please….

  2. That image of your lavendar is just magnificent! So dramatic – I love the color and the sharp focus that blurs out…
    The jelly sounds delicious too: nothing like a way to get your wine into your breakfast menu!!
    Thanks for the shout out – so nice!

  3. Is flattering you have such faith in me but i did not manage this month! Also my first thought when I saw that pic was, “did Andrea take that?” it’s gorgeous! I want to plant lavender now!!

  4. This sounds aromatic! It will be a perfect couple with white bread.😉

  5. A great creative use of the theme ingredient for this month’s can jam! I’m curious if the jelly is intensely aromatic, or only slightly? How lavender-y is it?

  6. MMMM,..must be so tasty!

    Looks incredibly good!

  7. I love how so many of us used that same basic Ball recipe and came up with so many different jellies.

  8. That sounds amazing. What will you serve it with? Is it an accompaniment for meat or will it also work on toast? Also the locust bean gum sounds interesting. I’ve never come across that ingredient.

  9. Looks nice! What jars do you use? I like them….though I (sadly) imagine they are a european canning jar?

    • Yes, these are European jars with twist off lids. Every now and then I use WECK canning jars, though, with rubber rings and spring clamps – like for one of my May Can Jam projects because WECK has beautiful juice bottles.

  10. I just made this last night with Chardonnay and dried lavender from last year’s garden. It’s really pretty and has a nice, light flavor. I’m still trying to figure out what to do with it though. Anyone tried it as a glaze for chicken?

  11. I too was paging thru the Ball book tonight looking for an idea for some wonderful figs I was given and I stumbled on the variation for the lavender jelly! I want to try some this week but I want to use: red wine instead of white, fresh flowers instead of dried, honey instead of sugar, and Pomona’s pectin instead of liquid! I have never made jelly before (lots of jam with honey and Pomona) so I will really be out there winging things! If you have any advice on my variations on the variation or otherwise, could you let me know! Thanks!

  12. Wow, Marilyn…you’re very brave to try all those variations. I never have enough confidence in my ideas to just “go for it!” Please let us know how it works. By the way, I did try this as a glaze for chicken and it was really wonderful. I also entered this at my county fair this summer and it won a Ball, best-of-spreads award and a blue ribbon. I think they were really taken with how unique it was.

  13. I needed a unique gift to take to our biennial family reunion. Thought about fresh strawberry jam but I was too late to get local produce. Had some harvested lavender so I was so pleased to find this post. I will highlight my jelly making soon at http://eliotseats.com/ and will give you due credit! Thanks for this post.

  14. Pingback: New Jelly Recipe « Eliot's Eats

Leave a Reply

