Globe Trotting Bake Off (4) – Denmark

The Globe Trotting Bake Off has been travelling through Scandinavia for quite a while now. The first Scandinavian country we visited was Sweden, then we went to Norway, and this week we are off to Denmark. My inspiration for all my Scandinavian Globe Trotting Bake Off posts is “The Great Scandinavian Baking Book” by Beatrice Ojakangas. And of course, I found a Danish recipe there, too – æbleskiver which means something like apple fritters (Ojakangas calls them Danish pancake balls).

I knew my kids would love me forever if I made those, and they were absolutely thrilled. I loved them a lot, too, and I will definitely make them again. Especially because I can use my otherwise rarely used poffertjes pan.

Which country is next? Finland? Stay tuned or bake along! And don’t forget my milka chocolate giveaway.

Æbleskiver – Danish Pancake Balls

(adapted from “The Great Scandinavian Baking Book”)

Ojakangas says this makes 20 pancakes, but with my pan the recipe makes 37 pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 2 tblsp sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • about 8 oz applesauce
  • 2 tsp powdered sugar
  • oil for frying

Directions:

  1. Heat milk to lukewarm, whisk in butter, egg yolks, and sugar.
  2. Turn into bowl and add flour and baking powder, whisking until no lumps remain.
  3. Whip egg whites until stiff and fold into mixture.
  4. Heat æbleskiver pan over medium-high heat.
  5. Put about 1/5 tsp oil into each intendation and spread around.
  6. Spoon in 1 tblsp of batter and let cook for about 30 seconds.
  7. Drop 1 tsp applesauce in center and top with enough more batter to cover the applesauce.
  8. When bottoms are browned, turn cakes over and cook on that side until browned.
  9. Removed from pan and dust with powdered sugar.

6 responses to “Globe Trotting Bake Off (4) – Denmark

  1. I love these. I go to the Market in the Lower East Side of Manhattan and they have a little place where they make them….SOOOO GOOOOD!

  2. I haven’t had these yet, but plan on making them fairly soon. I just came across the pan to make them with in my dear Grandmother’s belongings. Can’t wait to try them. Yours look yummy!

  3. Oh yum! I love these. I’ve been wanting to get a pan ever since I saw these in Solvang, California.

  4. Yummy! My kids would love these, too. Wonder if there’s a way to make them without the specialty pan . . .?

    • I have no idea how you would get the round shape without the specialty pan… Deep-frying won’t work, I suppose, because the batter is pretty thin. Let me know when you’ve figured something out.

  5. I am so sorry it has taken me so long to take a look at your recipe, its been one of those weeks. The pancake balls look amazing and delicious!! Katie and I will love these, I cant wait to make them!!

Leave a Reply

