Globe Trotting Bake Off (3) – Norway

Our Globe Trotting Bake Off went to Norway this week. Last week I baked knäckebröd from “The Great Scandinavian Baking Book” by Beatrice Ojakangas for our stop in Sweden, so I thought I could just flip through the book and check what Norwegian recipes are in there. Et voilà, I found a recipe for Norwegian Wheat Rusks. I halved the recipe because I couldn’t picture us eating 64 rusks. I know they keep well in airtight containers, but as these are plain whole wheat rusks with nothing fancy added, I thought 32 rusks would be enough. Splitting the rolls in half with 2 forks was quite a challenge, and I wonder what the reason for this is. I mean, why can’t I just take a knife? The same question holds for English Muffins: why do you have to split them with a fork? Anybody out there who can answer this question? Anyway, these rusk are quite tasty. I like them most with some butter and cheese on top. YUM!

Looking forward to seeing where our next stop is going to be. I wouldn’t mind Finland or Denmark, because there are still some recipes in the book left that I’d like to try. Want to join us? Stop by at The Lab to see where the journey takes us and bake along.

Norwegian Wheat Rusks

(adapted from “The Great Scandinavian Baking Book”, you can also find the recipe via Google Book Search on page 49)

Makes 64 rusks

Ingredients:

  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 3 tblsp sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 tblsp melted lard
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 5 cups whole wheat flour (I ground wheat with my own mill)

Directions:

  1. Dissolve yeast in 1/4 cup warm water, add sugar and let stand for 5 minutes until yeast foams.
  2. Stir in salt, lard and 2 cups warm water.
  3. Add 2 cups of flour. Cover and let rise for about 1 hour or until doubled.
  4. Add more flour a cup at a time until dough is stiff. Cover and let stand 15 minutes.
  5. Knead until dough is no longer sticky. Cover and let rise again until doubled.
  6. Knead lightly to degas dough and divide in half. Divide each half into quarters, then again into quarters (making a total of 32 pieces of dough).
  7. Shape into round rolls and place on baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Cover and let rise in a warm place until almost doubled.
  8. Preheat oven to 425°F. Bake for 12-15 minutes.
  9. Remove from oven, cool on racks, and with two forks, split each roll horizontally into two parts.
  10. Place on baking sheets again and bake at 250°F for about 1 hour or until dry and crisp.

3 responses to “Globe Trotting Bake Off (3) – Norway

  1. These look GREAT! Are they like English muffins? English muffins are pretty close to my favorite thing for breakfast. Do you like the cookbook? Im going to have to add it to my list of wants if you are finding it good.

    • No, they are not like English muffins at all! They are dry and crisp. They remind me of Zwieback (which literally means “twice-baked”) which is a staple in every German pantry. You can see how German Zwieback looks like here. As for the cookbook, yes, many of the recipes sound appealing, but if you want a cookbook with nice photos, this isn’t it. There is just a photo on the cover, and then a couple of drawings inside the book.

  2. Pingback: Globe Trotting Bake Off (4) – Denmark « Family & Food

Leave a Reply

