BBA Challenge: A Summary

I completed the BBA Challenge 3 weeks ago and still haven’t written a summary. This is going to change now. Here are my most favorite breads and my least favorite breads.

Top 10

  1. Roasted Onion Asiago Miche
  2. Portuguese Sweet Bread
  3. Italian Bread
  4. Cranberry Walnut Celebration Bread
  5. Lavash Crackers (used for pita)
  6. Pain à l’Ancienne
  7. Ciabatta
  8. Multigrain Bread Extraordinaire
  9. English Muffins
  10. 100% Sourdough Rye (no, this is not a typo ;-))

Here’s a slideshow for my top 10 breads.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bottom 5 (does that term exist at all?)

(#1 being the worst):

  1. Corn Bread
  2. Tuscan Bread
  3. Cinnamon Raisin Bread
  4. Cinnamon Buns (don’t get me wrong; I LOVE cinnamon buns, just not this version)
  5. Swedish Rye (Limpa)

I wanted to post pictures of my book, too, but when I looked through it I realized it didn’t look as bad as I had expected. Sure, there are some stains and dog-ears (this is funny, in German dog-ears are called Eselsohren which translates to donkey-ears), but all in all it’s still acceptable. It probably helped that I removed the book-jacket before I started the challenge. Now I put it back on and it looks really nice on the bookshelf.

5 responses to “BBA Challenge: A Summary

  1. Wonderful summary – I love that you took the time to rate and link to each of the breads. Congratulations on finishing!

    p.s. I’m also surprised that my book is more worse for wear, but it’s not bad. The jacket’s a little worn and torn but not terribly. Maybe I should rub some flour all over it, make it look REALLY worn.🙂

  2. What a great idea to do a summary + a slideshow. Congrats on finishing…you have a superb list of favorite breads ~

  3. Hi! Found your blog when Phyl tweeted this post on Twitter today. Loved seeing your assessment of favorite and not-as-favorite breads from the BBA Challenge. I’m taking the challenge much slower, only about halfway through.

  4. Thanks for pointing me to this post of yours! Will definitely make a note of your favourites (and the worst!) and re read the BBA and have a go at some of those. So many breads to make, and only so many hours free! Take care Zeb

  5. Pingback: Bread Baking Buddies August 2010: Portuguese Sweet Bread | Family & Food & Other Things

Leave a Reply

