BBD #28: Buns – Pugliese Pizza Buns

This actually is the recipe I wanted to make for BBD #28 the theme of which is Buns, but I wasn’t sure I would get around to it, so I submitted Hot Cross Buns which I was baking for the Mellow Bakers anyway. Anyway, now I did get around to making them, so here’s my second submission to BBD #28: Pugliese Pizza Buns.

When I was taking part in the BBA Challenge (which I finished recently), there was a bread named Pugliese. I made a plain loaf then which was good, but somehow I hadn’t read the side note which said this dough would make exceptional pizza dough. Mags and Abby obviously did read this sidenote, and when I read their posts about Pugliese pizza buns I knew I would have to make Pugliese again just to make these awesome pizza buns.

Thus, I took out my beloved “The Bread Baker’s Apprentice” and prepared the dough. You can find the recipe online here on page 107 (biga) and 222-225 (Pugliese). You have to follow the steps 1-6, the remaining steps are for making Pugliese loaves. This recipe makes 2 pounds of dough, which was perfect because we were having guests over for dinner.

While the dough was proofing, I prepared the topping. I heated olive oil in a skillet, added onions, garlic, and pepperoni, and sautéed everything. After about 10 minutes I set it aside to cool. When the dough was ready, I flipped it on an oiled counter, greased a rolling pin and rolled the dough into a  14×20 rectangle. I sprinkled 1 cup of cheese on the dough and pressed it lightly into the dough. Then I spread the pepperoni topping over the rectangle. Starting with the short end, I rolled the dough into a log, seam-side down. Then I scored the log into 16 even sections and sliced through the score marks which resulted in 16 pizza buns. I lined 2 baking sheets with parchment paper, placed 8 buns on each sheet, covered the bun with plastic wrap and stuck the sheets in the fridge. The next day, about 4 hours before baking I took them out of the fridge. 15 minutes before baking, I preheated the oven to 350°F and then baked the buns for 15 minutes. I removed the buns from the oven, topped them with pizza sauce and the remaining 2 cups of cheese, returned them to the oven and baked them for another 15-20 minutes.

My guests’ reaction was: “Can you please give us this recipe?”, my family’s reaction was “Can you please make these again soon?”.  I thought, these Pugliese pizza buns were extremely yummy, and I will make them again very soon!

Here’s the ingredient list for the Pugliese pizza buns:

  • 2 lb Pugliese dough
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 5 oz pepperoni, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups pizza sauce
  • 3 cups mozarella cheese, divided

8 responses to “BBD #28: Buns – Pugliese Pizza Buns

  1. What a great idea! Those pizza buns look fabulous! Now that I’m finished with the BBa Challenge, I would like to try some of the breads again myself. Thanks for sharing. Delish!

  2. So glad you tried them and loved them, too! I need to make them again soon! That Mags is just brilliant. =)

  3. Am glad you got around to making this and decided to send it for the event. Thank you!

  4. Holy wow, these look amazing! I mad the pugliese back in January and it wasn’t good, but I made some mistakes. I wasn’t sure about redoing it, but I just might have to so I can make these!

  5. loneilteaches

    These look heavenly! They will have to go on the quick make list.

  6. These look soooo yummmie…..and I happen to have all the ingredients for them. Now I just have to find the time. Thanks for making and posting these!!
    BTW email me re: butterscotch chips if you want!!

  7. Ok..these buns so rock!!! I wish I had a bag of those to munch on all day. BTW..so many challenges I can’t keep up with them! You seem to know most of them. I think I need to join in on some..and checking your blog for the latest ones, is my new task hehe.

  8. Great idea to make pizza buns. Love them!

Leave a Reply

