The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 03/10: Orange Tian

The 2010 March Daring Baker’s challenge was hosted by Jennifer of Chocolate Shavings. She chose Orange Tian as the challenge for this month, a dessert based on a recipe from Alain Ducasse’s Cooking School in Paris. You can find the recipe here.

I’ve never heard of orange tian, so I was really looking forward to making it. But for some reason I procrastinated, and procrastinated, and procrastinated. I just couldn’t motivate myself to get started. But I’m a good girl, so I didn’t chicken out and made it eventually.

I stuck to the given recipe with some minor changes only. I made an orange tian with chocolate whipped cream, i.e. I heated up the cream and melted 3 1/2 oz of milk chocolate in it. That was very yummy! I didn’t use pectin for the orange marmalade, but made it with with agar-agar instead, and also used agar-agar to stabilize the whipped cream. And instead of white sugar, I used brown sugar for the caramel, this explains the dark color of the caramel.

Orange marmalade

Pâte sablée and orange segments

Chocolate whipped cream and caramel

Assembled orange tian

I made one individual portion and a  family version which is still in the freezer. Therefor, I used a 9-inch springform, but I should have better used the 6-inch form because I didn’t have enough whipped cream, so the layer there is kind of thin. The hubby and I shared the individual portion so I’d be able to post about it on time – the only thing I can say is: YUM! If it weren’t so elaborate with the orange segments, I’d probably make this often. I will try with different  – less elaborate – fruit, though. I picture a blueberry tian or a mixed berry tian!

UPDATE:

Here’s a picture of my family version. We had guests today, so I served the freezer family version. For this one, I made the caramel with white sugar, thus it is much lighter.

Thanks, Jennifer, for a wonderful challenge.

50 responses to “The Daring Bakers’ Challenges 03/10: Orange Tian

  1. Mmmm, choc-orange is a great combination.

  2. Ooohh yummy combination!

  3. Well done! I didn’t use pectin at all for the marmalade and it worked too.

  4. Wonderful! Traditionally I think marmalade never uses pectin. I have been making marmalade for years & have never needed any setting agent.
    I like the idea of your using milk chcoclate. Lovely! Your tians are pretty, and I think a mixed berry tian would have me knocking at your door!

  5. Well done! It looks very delish, wish I’d gone with orange choc too (instead of too-sour lemon lime). Mixed berry tians sound very good indeed.

  6. I agree, the orange segments were time consuming but it was interesting to try. And I also made mine with chocolate whipped cream!

  7. That Tian is just good! I agree with Deeba. You don’t really need pectin or agar for marmalade. The skin/ peel helps to thicken the marmalade. That’s how I’ve alwyas made it.

    I did use agar to stabilize the cream though.

  8. You can’t beat chocolate, especially when paired with orange🙂 Nicely done.

  9. Nice job! Chocolate orange sounds gorgeous and your tian is adorable and so perfectly formed.🙂 It looks yum. I wish I had one in the freezer!

    Ooh blueberry, now there’s an idea.

  10. Oooh yum I want to make one with chocolate whipped cream too! And what a great idea to make one family size and freeze it. Excellent! This is really a great dessert and yours looks so delicious!

  11. It looks great with the chocolate whipped cream and that dark caramel sauce! Nicely done:) I actually didn’t procrastinate too much this month, but I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who does!

  12. Beautiful job – LOVE the chocolate whipped cream. I highly recommend trying other flavors (and berries don’t need to be segmented, LOL!) Fantastic job on the challenge, as always!!🙂

  13. Love the combination of chocolate with the oranges!

  14. I hope your guests were impressed. Both tians look great.

  15. Very impressive. And now I know what an orange tian is too!

  16. I think your chocolate whipped cream was a great addition to this recipe. There’s nothing I love more than chocolate covered oranges. – wish I had thought of it.🙂

  17. MMMM, what a great combo of orange and chocolate! I’m glad your procrastination didn’t get the best of you cuz your Tian looks wonderful. Great job on the challenge!

  18. Your tian is lovely. I actually think I prefer your dark coloured caramel to the light one. The flavour must be superb!

  19. love that pic with the orange segments in the pan. looks like pretty flower! nice photos, great to see the process! nice job this month🙂

  20. Thanks a lot for all the kind comments ;o).

  21. I so wanted to make brown sugar caramel but I was too much of a wimp to do it… Thank you for showing me how beautifully it can turn out! And really, is there anything that chocolate can’t make taste that much better? 😉

  22. Your Tian’s look beautiful, great job on the caramel and chocolate. I really wanted to change up the caramel, maybe next time.

  23. Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    I’m jealous! Chocolate and orange is one of my favourite combos! I wonder how come it never crossed my mind!
    Looks good!

  24. Wow, look at you go! That looks beautiful and delicious! I’ll have to check out the recipe……

  25. Hey, thanks for your comment. Yours looks amazing! Love the chocolate. Nommmmmmm

  26. Good job! Looks really beautiful!🙂

  27. I procrasinated as well and only just finished it in time. Love your tian especially the addition of chocolate. Arranging your orange segments to look like a rose is inspiring.

  28. Oh, wow! The chocolate whipped cream sounds yummo with the caramel and oranges. And I like the idea of a darker caramel with the brown sugar too! Great job!

  29. I love the idea of chocolate in the cream… sounds yummm!!!

  30. Ciao ! How wonderful you did not chicken out !! I love both your tains !!

  31. Nice job on the tians…and we have the same wordpress template:/ Hehe.

  32. oooh chocolate orange!! yumm i bet that was delicious, the two always go so well together😀.

  33. Caramel made with brown sugar has a lovely complex flavour, doesn’t it? I love your chocolate orange combo too.

  34. Looks and sounds good!! I considered a Choc Orange variant too but decided to stick with what the recipe said. Great job on the challenge!!

  35. Love the flavor combo…sound super delish🙂

  36. The Orange Tian looks wonderful and delicious.I like the chocolate version too.Thanks for dropping by simply.food.Your visit and comments are very much appreciated.

  37. Orange and chocolate are a heavenly match. Great job!

  38. As soon as I looked at your photo I thought “What a great color on the caramel” and then read that you used brown sugar. Good one.
    Thanks for visiting my site

  39. Yum, nice flavor combination. Your caramel looks great too, I managed to mess up mine, hehe. Anyways, good job on the challenge!

  40. The orange and chocolate combination sound so nice…

  41. Hello! Just wanted to say I love your blog! Your tian looks yummy. Good to know 6 inch form might work better. I’m late in making this cuz I’ve been invaded by college spring breakers😉

  42. I hear you on the procrastination, I always seem to be making my challenges at the very last minute too! Yours look delicious.

  43. I love the chocolate idea! As for the procrastination: its a wonder you manage to get as much done as you do never mind not getting it done early!

  44. pragmaticattic

    Nice! I went with chocolate,too. Interesting that you used brown sugar for the caramel.

  45. Yummy variations with the milk chocolate and brown sugar for the caramel. The little on is adorable!

  46. I believe the chocolate whipped cream makes the tian taste even better. Great combination!! I should give it a try too…

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  47. Gorgeous Tian! I love the chocolate whipped cream – what fun =D.

  48. Good idea to flavor the cream with chocolate !!
    And I love the dark caramel !

  49. WOW..the chocolate whipped cream is just brilliant and your caramelized/drippy caramel topping is stunning! Beautifully done!

Leave a Reply

