Globe Trotting Bake Off (1) – Ireland

Now that Joan’s Culinary Tour is over, I was looking for a similar challenge that would inspire me to cook recipes from different countries. One of the Culinary Tour’s fellow travellers thought the same and came up with the Globe Trotting Bake Off where we bake or cook something from a given country. This week’s pick was Ireland due to the fact that it was St. Patrick’s Day. Mr. Google suggested a couple of recipes (like Irish soda bread, Irish stew, Champ), but I, being an oats addict, knew pretty fast that I would make Irish Lace Cookies because the main ingredient of them, I guess, you’ve concluded that already, is OATS.

I flaked some oats with my flic floc flaker, mixed together butter, brown sugar, a little bit of flour, milk, vanilla extract and oats, put them on a sheet pan that was lined with baking paper, put them in the preheated oven, took them out after 12 minutes and… was…. um… irritated. They were flatter than flat. I checked the recipe to see if I had forgotten anything, but no, I had done everything as was stated in the recipe. So I guess, this is what these cookies are supposed to look like. For my reassurance, Katie has experienced the exact same thing with this recipe. So, visually, they were not very appealing, but once I took a bite, I knew I would make these cookies again very soon.  They were crisp and  very oaty, with a hint of vanilla. YUM! I just have to find a way to make them look a little more appetizing.

Irish Lace Cookies

(adapted from Epicurious)

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tblsp all-purpose flour
  • 2 tblsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

Directions:

  1. In a bowl cream the butter with the brown sugar until the mixture is light and fluffy and beat in the flour, the milk, and the vanilla.
  2. Stir in the oats, drop rounded teaspoons of the dough about 3 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets, and bake the cookies in batches in the middle of a preheated 350°F oven for 10 to 12 minutes, or until they are golden.
  3. Let the cookies stand on the sheets for 1 minute, or until they are just firm enough to be moved with a metal spatula.
  4. Transfer the cookies to a rack and let them cool completely.

12 responses to “Globe Trotting Bake Off (1) – Ireland

  1. Oh my gosh! the flic floc flocker is too cool! I think that I will check out to see if we get the whole grain oats here and if so, I will order one.

    Your Irish Lace cookies look yummy!

    • Glad you like my flaker. I just wish I had gotten an electric one because I need to flake A LOT of oats for myself and my 3 kids. Here‘s a US based source for the flic floc flaker.

  2. they are so delicate and delicious

  3. They look great! Thank you so much for joining in. Ideas for next week’s country? So, this is the first time Ive heard of this flic floc flaker and the site does not really explain it well. What exactly does it do?

    • You take whole grain oats, put them in the flaker, turn the crank-handle and get old-fashioned rolled oats as the result which you can use for making oatmeal. Here‘s an English sites that explains the advantages of flaking your own grains.

    • As for your question what country to take next week: I’ve never intentionally made something from Scandinavia, so Sweden, Finland or Norway would be interesting.

      • loneilteaches

        How very funny – you read my mind! I was thinking Scandinavia also. Lets start with Sweden and then go from there… I will have to look at the flaker again. We love rolled oats.

      • Oh nice, off to Sweden!

  4. Those sound yummy!!! My very favorite cookie recipe in the whole world is really similar to this (but with a bit of flour and some chocolate chips).

  5. They look so beautiful and delicious!

Leave a Reply

