Financiers au Chocolat

When I read that my friend Sara had made financiers au chocolat I knew I had to make them, too. First, I always have egg whites in the freezer, and second, my family has an extremely sweet tooth, so I knew these little chocolate almond cakes would be perfect. I wondered about the origin of the name which translates to chocolate bankers. So I googled a little bit until I found 2 really interesting explanations Clotilde of Chocolate & Zucchini gave on her blog.

  1. Some people say they are named such because they include almond powder and butter, expensive ingredients that only bankers could afford.
  2. Other people say it is because in the traditional shape they look like gold ingots, and are hence favored by rich people.

Either way, these little cakes are AWESOME!!!! I don’t think I’m going to struggle with meringues anymore when I have leftover egg whites. From now on, my go-to recipe is this one for financiers au chocolat!

Another interesting thing I learned is the difference between Dutch-process and natural cocoa powder (read more about it here). I didn’t even know there were 2 kinds of cocoa powder. This is probably due to the fact, that in Germany the only cocoa powder you’ll find is Dutch-processed.

Without further ado, here’s the recipe.

Financiers au Chocolat

(adapted from David Lebovitz “The Sweet Life in Paris”)

Ingredients:

  • 9 tblsp unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sliced almonds (since these are going to be ground anyway, I used ground almonds which are one of the most common ingredients in German baked goods)
  • 4 1/2 tblsp unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tblsp flour
  • 1/8 tsp + 1 pinch salt
  • 1 1/8 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup egg whites, at room temperature
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425° F. Place 38 miniature paper liners (I used truffle paper liners) on a baking sheet (Lebovitz uses a mini-muffin tin which I don’t have, thus the truffle paper liners).
  2. Melt the butter and set aside until room temperature.
  3. Mix the ground almonds with the cocoa, flour, salt, and sugar.
  4. Stir the egg whites and almond extract into the almond mixture, then gradually stir in the melted butter until smooth and fully incorporated.
  5. Spoon the batter into the paper liners, filling them three-quarters full.
  6. Bake for 10 to 15 minutes, until slightly puffed and springy to the touch.

Yields 38 truffle-size financiers.

5 responses to “Financiers au Chocolat

  1. These look great: I’m definitely going to do this next time I have egg whites. If I’m baking them to prevent white waste its a service to the planet and totally alleviates any guilt due to overindulging in chocolate!

  2. Aren’t they a great discovery?

  3. Hi, just popped over to see you and your blog looks like it is full of delights! these look just lovely – I’ve made the ordinary financiers but these look fabulous.

    Zeb

Leave a Reply

