Can Jam #2: “Carrot” – (2) Carrot Cake Jam

Here’s my 2nd carrotty contribution to Tigress’ Can Jam. For those who don’t know: each month we focus on a certain fruit or vegetable and find interesting recipes to waterbath can it. This month’s focus is: CARROTS.

As I don’t like pickles, it had to be something sweet. My first project was a Persian carrot jam with orange and cardamom, and now this 2nd project is a carrot cake jam. I adapted it from Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving.

The fruit/ vegetables used in this jam are carrots, pears and pineapple. I don’t know if these are the ingredients that go into an American carrot cake. If so, please send me a recipe because the jam is fantastic!

Recipe: (adapted from Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving)

  • 1 1/2 cups finely grated peeled carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped cored peeled pears
  • 1 3/4 cups canned pineapple, including juice
  • 3 tblsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 package regular powdered fruit pectin (instead of pectin, I used about 4 tsp locust bean gum – also known as carob gum or carob bean gum, which can be used as a thickening agent)
  • 6 1/2 cups granulated sugar (I cut the sugar back to 3 cups)
  • I added 2 tsp of citric acid (not called for in the recipe)

Directions:

  1. Mix everything but sugar, locust bean gum and citric acid in a deep saucepan.
  2. Bring to a boil.
  3. Lower heat, cover and boil gently for 20 minutes, stirring every once in a while.
  4. Purée everything (this is not called for in the recipe).
  5. Add locust bean gum, bring to a boil and stir frequently.
  6. Add sugar, boil hard and stir frequently for 1 minute.
  7. Add citric acid.
  8. Remove from heat.

I then checked the pH level with a test stick – it was 3,6. Good enough, so I ladled the jam into hot, sterilized jars, closed the jars, put them in my electric waterbath canner and processed them for 10 minutes at 90°C.

Some people on the internet said that this jam was leaning slightly towards the pineapple taste. I can’t confirm that at all. I thought the cinnamon was kind of dominant, but I really liked it because I’m a big fan of cinnamon. As you see in the recipe, I cut down on the sugar drastically – I didn’t even use half of the amount that was called for. And still, the jam was pretty sweet, so I would use even less sugar next time. This jam is really good, so get the ingredients and some jars and make this jam.

Check out some fellow canners’ carrot posts here (stay tuned):

14 responses to “Can Jam #2: “Carrot” – (2) Carrot Cake Jam

  1. Oh my goodness this looks good!

    I haven’t heard of pears in carrot cake, but the pineapple is a pretty common ingredient.

  2. Wow, looks so good. only thing missing are chunks of cake in it!

  3. Looks delicious!! I think I’m gonna have to try this recipe!🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  4. Locust bean gum? Interesting. Have you used that before in jams? The jam looks delightful!

    • This was the second time I used locust bean gum in jam. Usually I use agar-agar, but the problem with that is that after waterbath canning the jam will be very fluid again. I know that one method to make jams set is to use lots of sugar, but I don’t like my jams so supersweet, so that’s not an option for me. And locust bean gum seems to work pretty well!

  5. Pingback: Can Jam February Challenge: Carrots « Three Clever Sisters

  6. I thought about making this one, but was also put off by the amount of sugar. I almost always cut it back, but it can sometimes be hard to manage the recipe if you cut out more than half; glad to know that it works!

  7. wow, you are not kidding: you have a lot of challenges! and two versions of the carrot too! the jam looks really tasty!

  8. Oh, yum! I wish I had made something sweet instead of pickling. This looks amazing!!

  9. Fabulous jam. What great pictures!

  10. I love carrot cake. I’ll definitely have to try this! Looks delicious.

  11. http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/12/carrot-cake-with-maple-cream-cheese-frosting

    There’s a recipe for carrot cake. I’ve not made this one (I’ve not actually ever MADE carrot cake, come to think of it) but everything from Smitten Kitchen is absolutely delicious so I don’t think you can go wrong.

Leave a Reply

