BBD 27 – Pan Latino: Pan de Yuca/ Pan de Queso & Culinary Tour 2010 – South of the Border: (6) Colombia

This month’s theme of the Bread Baking Day which was initiated by Zorra from 1x umrühren bitte is Latin Breads/ Pan Latino, hosted by Gretchen Noelle from Canela and Comino.

Due to a comment by Cinzia on Gretchen Noelle’s site, I stumbled upon another really interesting challenge which is called “Culinary Tour 2010 – South of the Border”. Starting January 11 and for 9 weeks thereafter, 10 cuisines of the Southern neighbors of the US will be featured, beginning in Mexico and moving from there to El Salvador, Nicaragua, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba and Puerto Rico. You have to prepare a dish that is either traditional or that is using the flavors typical of the destination, or follow the recipe of a published chef specializing in that cuisine. Unfortunately, I have missed half of the journey already, but I will hop on the train now and meet everybody in Colombia.

So why not combine these 2 challenges and make a Colombian bread? Ok, off to Google I went. First, I thought about making empanadas, but then the term “cheese bread” caught my eye. There are many kinds of cheese bread in Latin America and the ingredients are not exactly the same in the different countries. In Colombia, the cheese bread is known as Pan de Yuca or Pan de Queso, in Argentina, it is called Chipas,  in Bolivia they call it Cuñapes and in Brasil the name is Pão de Queijo (well, this is just Portuguese for Pan de Queso).

The recipe I found uses queso fresco which is a cheese I don’t know where to buy in Germany, but then I’ve read that you can use pressed ricotta, or even grated mozzarella cheese instead. Of course, this won’t be really authentic then. The other ingredients weren’t too complicated: tapioca starch (I still have some leftover tapioca starch from  January’s Daring Bakers’ Challenge), baking powder, eggs and sugar.

Recipe (adapted from My Colombian Recipes):

  • 1 cup tapioca starch
  • 2 cups queso fresco (I used grated mozzarella cheese)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450°F.
  2. Combine the tapioca starch, cheese, sugar and baking powder. Add the eggs and purée the mixture with an immersion blender or in a food processor.
  3. Divide mixture into 12 equal portions and shape into balls.
  4. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, place the balls on the baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes or until golden on top.
  5. Serve warm.
  6. Enjoy!😉

I didn’t expect the rolls to grow that much in the oven, so next time I have to leave more room between them on the baking sheet. At first, I thought the taste was a little bland, lacking some salt. But then I remembered having read that Pan de Yuca is traditionally served with a cup of hot chocolate, so I did that and was pleasantly surprised. The cheese rolls matched really well with the hot chocolate. Thin crust, cheesy and moist crumb, complemented by the sweetness of the hot chocolate – YUM!

9 responses to “BBD 27 – Pan Latino: Pan de Yuca/ Pan de Queso & Culinary Tour 2010 – South of the Border: (6) Colombia

  1. Very nice post. Thanks for bringing this delicious bread to the Culinary Tour. Please email me at info@foodalogue.com so that I can ask you a couple of questions for the round-up.

  2. Very nice! I’ve been trying to decide what bread I want to make for this month’s BBD. Thanks for the tips!

  3. Pingback: Culinary Tour 2010 • Colombia Round-Up | FOODalogue

  4. Weren’t the yuca breads so yummy? That’s so neat that we made the same dish – great minds think alike🙂

  5. Found your blog through Joan’s Foodalogue. I am a breadaholic (currently on Weight Watchers–so I’m just looking). Your breads look heavenly.

  6. Those rolls look so good. I wanted to make them originally, using tapioca from my garden. Way too much work. So, went out and got the tapioca starch to make them later.

  7. It looks so warm and comforting!

  8. I am going to have to try this recipe. I love yucca and cheese together! Wonderful to have you participate in BBD!

  9. Pingback: Bread Baking Day #27 Round-Up | Canela and Comino

Leave a Reply

