Birthday Cakes Part 6: Princess Castle

It was my daughter’s 7th birthday this weekend and when I asked her what kind of cake she wanted for her birthday she said “A pink princess cake”. You have to know that my oldest daughter is not really a pink, ballet kinda, girly girl. She likes soccer, and dinosaurs, and knights… She’s a tomboy. So I was kind of irritated when she told me what she wanted. But as I am a good mom😉 I accepted this challenge: to make a pink princess cake that is not too pink, nor too girly, but still pink and has a princess.

At first I thought I’d make this kind of cake. You know, the one where you stick a barbie doll in the middle and the skirt is the cake. But I HATE Barbie. And I don’t want my daughters to have a Barbie. So I thought: Why not make a princess castle with a princess in front of it? Off to the toy store I went where I found these cute Playmobil toys: a Duke, a Duchess and a knight who would guard the castle.

Back at home, I made our traditional family cake: the devil’s cake. If you want the recipe, you can find it here. I poured approximately half of the dough into a cake tin and the other half into a 6-inch springform. When the cakes were ready, I let them cool and cut off the top of the rectangular cake. Then, I divided that rectangle into 4 smaller rectangles – these were the castle-towers. The round cake was the castle. I glazed the towers and the castle with pink fondant and added some decoration to them (silver and white sugar balls, pink, white and purple hearts, and pink glitter. On top of the towers, I put icecream cones that I had glazed with pink fondant. I put a candle in the middle (the number “7”), and arranged 6 more candles around the center candle.

So, what else can I say? My daughter was REALLY happy about the cake. She said “Mom, that’s exactly what I wanted”. Isn’t this the best thing for a mom to hear?

3 responses to “Birthday Cakes Part 6: Princess Castle

  1. You are such a wonderful mom. The cake is really beautiful for your little princess.

  2. That’s adorable! And I love your daughter’s perfect response! =)

  3. What an adorable cake! Love the ice cream cones on the towers…just so clever!

    You’re a good Mom!

Leave a Reply

