Bread Baking Buddies January 2010: Naan Bread

Yet another challenge I’ve joined – The Bread Baking Buddies. I start getting confused with all the submission deadlines – I’ll have to figure something out how to keep track of everything😉. Anyway, this is a monthly challenge where one person gets to pick the bread recipe that all the other bakers have to stick to.

This month’s pick was Naan Bread. Lynn of Cookie Baker Lynn offered two versions: a curried naan and a plain naan. As I had everything on hand for the curried naan, I decided to go for this version.

Here’s the recipe:

  • scant 4 cups white bread flour1
  • 1 ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tblsp olive oil + some for frying
  • 2 tblsp mild curry powder
  • ½ oz fresh yeast
  • 1 ¼ cups water (I ended up using way more water because the dough was really stiff)
  • ½ cup golden raisins
  • 3 tblsp mango chutney

1 I took German flour type 812.

Directions:

  • Dissolve the yeast in some water.
  • Combine the flour, salt, olive oil, curry powder, dissolved yeast and remaining water in mixing bowl and knead for about 5 minutes2.
  • Cover and let rise for 30 minutes.
  • Incorporate the raisins and the mango chutney into the dough.
  • Divide the dough into 8 pieces3.
  • Put pieces on lined baking sheet4.
  • Cover and let rest for 1 hour.
  • Turn one boule on a lightly floured counter and flatten it into a circle 8 inches in diameter by using a rolling pin. Let rest for 5 minutes. Repeat for the other boules.
  • Heat a skillett to medium heat and add appr. 1 tsp olive oil.
  • Shallow-fry each piece of dough until browned on both sides.
  • Set aside to cool sightly. Enjoy!

2 I used my kitchen machine.

3 Lynn says 6 pieces, but my skillet isn’t that big

4 According to my BBA Challenge experience, I formed boules and placed them on the baking sheet.

We enjoyed 2 naans right away. The remaining 6 boules are in the refrigerator and will be fried tonight. I’m really looking forward to having more because this bread was extremely delicious. Since it’s so easy and quick to make, I’ll definitely make it again VERY soon. I have no idea what original naan bread is like because I’ve never had one, but when we’ll go to an Indian restaurant next time (it’s been years since my last visit) I’ll definitely try naan bread. That’s for sure!

6 responses to “Bread Baking Buddies January 2010: Naan Bread

  1. Wonderful! Your naan look perfect. I’m so glad you enjoyed them. Thanks for baking along with us!

  2. Looks like real Naan to me.
    We repeated visited an Indian restaurant in Houston recently and they had a great variety.
    So happy you came along with us on this bake. Hope to see you again soon.

  3. Let’s shake hands on deadlines (pff) you made it and it looks great!

  4. Great naan! I am like you and divide into portions that suit me.
    Thanks so much for baking with us this month!

  5. I added more water, too and divided into 8 balls of dough. Your naan looks great and It’s true that it is easy to make this delish bread!

  6. Wow, I can’t believe how you keep up with all of your challenges!! Very impressive! =) This looks delicious . . . I love naan . . . I’ll have to try it!

Leave a Reply

